We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay with fabulous breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
6 Makakai Place, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay with fabulous breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Orchid Tree. We had the large suite with two beds, I believe one full and one queen. The beds were very comfortable. The suite included a sofa and love seat, a small tv and the ability to choose from three large binders of DVDs. The closet was huge and included a dresser where the drawers were not usable. (They didn't slide on a track, but would fall out) It also had a very small refrigerator which had a moldy gasket. The bathroom was small but functional.. The best part of this place was the fabulous fruit tray breakfast that our host, Steve, prepared each morning. Breakfast was served at 8 AM and included choices of coffee, juices, breads, muffins, jams, cereal,and yogurt. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with another couple staying in the other suite.
I give this place a 4 out of 5 because it had a moldy, musty smell. (Though it might be the humidity of the area) It was lacking a box of tissues, and no iron or ironing board. I also got attacked by mosquitoes so I had to keep the windows closed and the air conditioner on.
Overall, Steve was a good host, providing a great breakfast and supplying suggestions and information about the area. The rooms had an assortment of travel books, brochures, and menus to aid in exploring the island. I would recommend this place to visitors in the Hilo area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our friends who had been to Hawaii several times dismissed the idea of staying in Hilo. But what a mistake that would have been. Our host, Steve, was not only extremely knowledgable and helpful, but acutely sensitive to the history and culture of this beautiful part of the Big Island. And it shows in the way he and Su have built the idyllic new suite in their B&B and the amazing spread of fresh food they put before you each morning. It was a great base from which to explore our too-short stay. A full-hearted mahalo to the Orchid Tree.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in a well decorated, clean room which was very spacious. The garden and pool area are very nice. Steve was a conscientious host - provided lot of local information and delicious breakfast. The neighborhood is quiet, away from the main city but within an easy 5-10 minutes to get to most places. The blacksand beach nearby is a surfing beach. Very popular. We saw a sea turtle on the beach. There is a nice walk to a nearby waterfall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trentham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Best B&B I've stayed at. Room was a delight. Breakfast was unbelievable. Hospitality was outstanding. Only problem was that our stay was over too soon. If I ever return to Hilo, the Orchid Tree B&B will be an absolute must. Many thanks to Maxine for looking after us while Steve and Su were away. Mahalo Maxine.
John and Velette, Australia.

Room Tip: For a couple, the Koi suite is the preferred option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast and no pictures do it justice! Everything was top notch...deco was classy, beds were comfortable, all put together with a wonderful "you are at home" feel! It is a little slice of heaven nestled there in Hilo and we hope to visit again someday. Our only regret is that we did not get to meet Steve and Sue as they were out of town, but Maxine is so sweet and made us feel right at home! Breakfast was awesome. And we love the gecko's!!

Room Tip: both rooms are great!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wow! What else could I say. This is the best Bed & Breakfast I ever stayed. Everything is perfect: location (close to main city Hilo), beautiful and huge room with view on the ocean and sunrise, splendid garden, pool, jacuzzi, and amazing breakfast. And Steve was a terrific host with good advices for the visit. The fruit plate in the morning just worth it. Yes, you will ear the famous frogs at night but it's better than to ear trucks! Nice little beach just down the street especially for surfers (not sandy). Mahalo Steve!

Room Tip: We had the room behing the garage and it was great but I haven't seen the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast is a real find in Hilo. The room and the surroundings could not be more beautifully appointed, while feeling cozy and welcoming, too. The garden is spectacular, the furnishings exquisite, and the hospitality is top-flight. Steve, the proprietor, gave us lots of good ideas and pointers for the few days we were there, and we are grateful to him for contributing to our great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel
Orchid Tree b&b
Orchid Tree Hotel Hilo
Orchid Tree Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii
Address: 6 Makakai Place, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid tree B&B is located one mile north of historic Old Hilo Town at Honolii Beach. Enjoy the comfort of a 600 sq/ft suite overlooking the ocean, pool and lush gardens; very private and elegant. Located within minutes of all the activities in East Hawaii: 45 minutes to Volcano National Park. Enjoy surfing, hiking, excellent dining, shops and the famous Hilo Farmer's Market. With 35 years experience on the Big Island, let us show you the way to an authentic and memorable Hawaiian experience! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list