We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Hawaiian B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Hawaiian B&B
1492 Wailuku Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Missoula, MT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent less than 12 hours (late flight in and then left after breakfast) but we couldn't have been happier with our first night in Hawaii. The property is lovely and the lanai opens onto groomed, expansive lawn out to the stream. The bed was extremely comfortable and the tiny bathroom totally adequate for our needs. We find that sleeping with earplugs gives us comfort wherever we travel, so the Koke frogs didn't even bother us. Breakfast was great. Good value for the money, all around.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room and it was perfect for us. It opened onto the lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
68
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed just one night at this B&B. We were in the room that was not on the Lanai and preferred this as there was more privacy. Very nice room, no frog noises at night like there are in a lot of places in Hilo. The breakfast was great with lots of fruit and home made smoothies and baked goods. Beautiful property, if you stay walk to the back edge of their land in back and you see the river and a small waterfall! The owner, Lory, was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was very nice having you stay with us, hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatlinburg, TN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I needed a place to stay for a couple of days and really enjoy B&Bs. I chose this one based on the reviews. It lived up to the wonderful reviews! It was a quaint house, beautiful property and the breakfasts were incredible! It was close enough to Hilo, yet you would never feel you were in a city. The walls are a little thin, so you can easily hear your neighbor if they are loud, but that will be common in some of the older houses.. didn't bother me and wasn't really bad...
The room was clean, comfortable and the host Lory is super sweet! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, the kind words and taking the time to write a review. I love to share my home and baking with my guests and am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit to Hilo.

Lory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 days, but wish we had booked our entire time here. B&B is in a quiet suburb with a river in the back. B & B is between Rainbow and Boiling Pots state parks and the property is like a nature park. Room was large and very clean. Bathroom was tiled and spotless with a shower and sunken tub. The owner still likes being a B&B hostess. Met us on arrival(even offered to help with our bags). Serves fantastic breakfasts and visits with guests over breakfast. Many of the breakfast fruits are raised on site. The owners are very organized and can support most needs. Have flashlights for volcano tours, umbrellas, restaurant advice book, etc. They have thought of most everything.

Room Tip: Our room was on the far right at the back of the home, facing the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review for us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were looking for a B&B to stay in Hilo for one night (hard to find in Hilo) and found the Old Hawaiian Inn B&B.

Our room was the Hawaiian Room - very spacious and comfortable. It is in a quiet location and within walking distance of Rainbow Falls and the Boiling Pots. The breakfast was magnificant - best scones I have ever had, delicous tropical smoothies, yogurt, fresh Hawaiian fruit, and eggs. Wish our visit could have longer -- maybe next time.

Room Tip: Hawaiian room is a nice large size with windows looking out into a nicely landscaped backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in Hilo and chose this B & B. I wish it had been longer. Our room was so comfy, bright & cheery and looked out onto a wonderfully manicured spacious yard. The breakfast included native fruits and baked goods - excellent! The location is quiet, secluded and perfect for traveling to the local sites including the Mauna Kea Observatory and local markets. The owners, Lory & Stewart, were gracious hosts and readily shared their wealth of information about the area with us. Our next trip to Hilo will definately include several nights @ this B & B. Without hesitation I would highly recommend The Old Hawaiian B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a nice, quiet B&B up in the hills above downtown Hilo near the Boiling Pots. Owner Lory is extremely friendly and she prepares great baked goods along with awesome fruit (mostly from her garden) for breakfast. Rooms are clean, although the linen had a slight stale water odor. Since you're higher up the mountain, the air is cooler and not as muggy as it is down near the ocean- so it's much more pleasant at night. The room at ground level is more isolated and hence there's a little more privacy than the two rooms located off the backyard lanai. Breakfast is at 8am and is a sit down with the other guests in the B&B. This can be nice social event to interact with other people and hear their stories. It's a pleasant walk up to Boiling Pots, but the pots themselves are not that impressive. Cost is slightly less than the B&B closer to downtown Hilo, so that's a plus, but you do have to drive up the mountain to get to this quiet neighborhood. The neighborhood has an active plan to isolate the coqui frogs away from the homes, so evenings are very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Hawaiian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hawaiian B&B

Address: 1492 Wailuku Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hawaiian B&B is a two story 'Olde Hawaiian Style' home located on 1/2 acre of gorgeous landscaped grounds, backing onto State-owned land, and the Wailuku River. It is situated in one of the most peaceful and tropical areas of Hilo, and only two blocks from the Boiling Pots Park, which has an overlook of the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Hawaiian Hotel Hilo
The Old Hawaiian Bed And Breakfast
The Old Hawaiian B&B Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Hawaiian B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Hawaiian B&B to your Saves list