We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If grandma had a house in Hilo, this would be it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Hawaiian B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Hawaiian B&B
Save Saved
You added The Old Hawaiian B&B to your Saves list
1492 Wailuku Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Dublin OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If grandma had a house in Hilo, this would be it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The service and breakfast were superb. Our room was clean and comfortable. The birds sang loudly and were so peaceful on the lanai. However,our room and specifically the bathroom were adjacent to the lanai so we had little privacy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
69
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Old Hawaiian Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful, lovely experience. I was born and raised on O'ahu, and I am very picky about travel and lodgings. This was a wonderful, comfortable, beautiful setting, with friendly, intelligent, lovely owners who were helpful in every way. My room was the largest one available and the most private. A large iron-framed bed and smaller day bed evoked a turn of the century (19th-20th) Victorian charm. Huge double hung windows let in loads of natural light. The spa-like bathroom was modern and luxurious in size, with a sunken tub and separate shower. Being there was instantly relaxing. Breakfast service was prompt--just the right touch of casualness and formality, and was delicious. Because I was there for the high school track and field State Championships, i didn't need a lot of direction about places to go, but Lory was certainly knowledgeable. It was also fortuitous that she coaches track at Hilo High, so she was additionally helpful given my reasons for travel. The grounds were planted with authentic native plants, in addition to common, non-invasive fruit trees and a variety of flowering irises, hibiscus, to name a few. While waiting for a ride, i walked up the street where friendly neighbors smiled and waved. I would definitely return the next time I go to Hilo, and in fact, I'd prefer staying there than at a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Old Hawaiian B&B is wonderful. It was my first trip to Hawaii and this was a great start. The back yard is so beautiful. Lory has so many fresh fruits and it was fun to try all of the new ones. Her breakfasts are the best! Love the smoothies! Lory can tell you about different places to go and things to do and makes you feel right at home.
Anyone who chooses the Old Hawaiian won't regret it. I hope we can return someday.
Thanks again Lory and Stewart!
Connie T.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room. It was a large comfortable room, with a table and two chairs, an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

When originally booking my Hilo vacation, I decided on Old Hawaiian because I found Lory professional yet friendly on the phone. A lot of other B&Bs I called were a little too informal for my taste (and giving a credit card number to). Lory responded to all me pre-vacation emails promptly, including my request for an additional night.

The B&B is located not too far from the airport and just outside of downtown Hilo, walking distance to Rainbow Falls and Boiling Pots is at the end of the street. You can walk out your door and are a a 30-second walk from the river. It's very quiet, great stars at night, lots of quiet scenic roads for walking and running. The room was very clean, comfortable, and had lots of little touches (aftersun lotion, dishes, wine bottle opener, menus for everywhere in town, mosquito spray, flashlights, and much more). There are ceiling fans and between the fan and the cool Hilo nights, I got chilly once in a while, which was okay.

Lory serves a fantastic breakfast with smoothies and lots of fresh local fruit. When Lory found out that I am gluten/dairy/egg intolerant she made special cinnamon scones and chocolate muffins for me. Not only was this an unexpected and outstanding gesture, but they were DELICIOUS!!!! There is a little communal fridge and mcrowave, so it is possible to buy your own food and stash it and it was adequate for a food-restricted person like me.

There are 2 large chain grocery stores near by, as well as a natural foods market on te main drag in Hilo, plus the daily farmers market, so finding food was not too difficult.

Lory and her husband are there to answer questions (we asked about driving to Kona, best places to go for a run in town - Lory coaches track at the high school, and for general in town direction or recommendations), but they are not in-your-face. They are very respectful of your space and vacation time.

The price for our five-night stay was fantastic, beter than a lot of the standard resort/hoteoptions that were around. Plus, none of those places would've made me gluten-free vegan scones.

I would Highly recommend Old Hawaiian B&B, and when we make it back to Hilo, we will book here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room which I believe is the largest and doesn't share walls with any ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay. We were in the Bamboo the smallest room which was a great value. Yes the room was smaller but it was all we needed. The bed was comfortable the only thing was the walls were a little thinner for noise.
Our breakfast on the verandah over looking the tropical forest was wonderful and a great place to meet other people traveling from around the World. In the evening you could sit and relax in the verandah where it was quiet as there is no traffic beae by.
A very warm and inviting place to stay and in Hilo and close to the Volcano National Park. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stewart and Lori have a lot of experience running a B&B, and it shows. There is a big common lanai for all guests to use, with a nice table and chairs, a tea kettle and cups, and a small refrigerator. In each room is a bin with plates, utensils, wine glasses, mugs. These are washed and replaced daily, so it's easy to enjoy take-out dinners on the lovely, quiet lanai overlooking the big yard. Breakfast is at 8 and features beautifully arranged fruits from the yard, boiled eggs, and homebaked breads or coffee cakes as well as smoothies. The Bamboo Room, the smallest, was quite adequate for us, and had two chairs and a small table lamp for reading in the evening. We find that we don't need big rooms in Hawaii, if there's a lanai we can use, and there usually is. The location is a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of the Boiling Pots park on the Wailuku River. The rate has stayed the same for many years, a rarity in Hawaii, and is a very good value.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Room, at $80, is pleasantly decorated and has good light. The bathroom, which was added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again. I am happy that you had a good experience at our place. Thank you for writing a review . Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, had breakfast at the table with other guests for one morning and had a packed b'fast to go the next morning. Both were great and you do not go hungry! We stayed in the Bamboo room and by far it is the smallest but we were not there much so it worked out ok. The bathroom is very small as well. Given a choice I would have chosen one of the bigger rooms only for the space...Other than that we thought the place was great.We travel in the day a lot so only look for a clean, nice spot to sleep. And this was great! The yard was so nice to look at as we sat on the porch and it was very quiet!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Hawaiian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hawaiian B&B

Address: 1492 Wailuku Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hawaiian B&B is a two story 'Olde Hawaiian Style' home located on 1/2 acre of gorgeous landscaped grounds, backing onto State-owned land, and the Wailuku River. It is situated in one of the most peaceful and tropical areas of Hilo, and only two blocks from the Boiling Pots Park, which has an overlook of the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Hawaiian Hotel Hilo
The Old Hawaiian Bed And Breakfast
The Old Hawaiian B&B Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Hawaiian B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.