We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Hawaiian B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Hawaiian B&B
Save
You added The Old Hawaiian B&B to your Saves list
1492 Wailuku Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Abilene, Kansas
2 reviews
“A Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Old Hawaiian B&B is wonderful. It was my first trip to Hawaii and this was a great start. The back yard is so beautiful. Lory has so many fresh fruits and it was fun to try all of the new ones. Her breakfasts are the best! Love the smoothies! Lory can tell you about different places to go and things to do and makes you feel right at home.
Anyone who chooses the Old Hawaiian won't regret it. I hope we can return someday.
Thanks again Lory and Stewart!
Connie T.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room. It was a large comfortable room, with a table and two chairs, an extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
76
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

When originally booking my Hilo vacation, I decided on Old Hawaiian because I found Lory professional yet friendly on the phone. A lot of other B&Bs I called were a little too informal for my taste (and giving a credit card number to). Lory responded to all me pre-vacation emails promptly, including my request for an additional night.

The B&B is located not too far from the airport and just outside of downtown Hilo, walking distance to Rainbow Falls and Boiling Pots is at the end of the street. You can walk out your door and are a a 30-second walk from the river. It's very quiet, great stars at night, lots of quiet scenic roads for walking and running. The room was very clean, comfortable, and had lots of little touches (aftersun lotion, dishes, wine bottle opener, menus for everywhere in town, mosquito spray, flashlights, and much more). There are ceiling fans and between the fan and the cool Hilo nights, I got chilly once in a while, which was okay.

Lory serves a fantastic breakfast with smoothies and lots of fresh local fruit. When Lory found out that I am gluten/dairy/egg intolerant she made special cinnamon scones and chocolate muffins for me. Not only was this an unexpected and outstanding gesture, but they were DELICIOUS!!!! There is a little communal fridge and mcrowave, so it is possible to buy your own food and stash it and it was adequate for a food-restricted person like me.

There are 2 large chain grocery stores near by, as well as a natural foods market on te main drag in Hilo, plus the daily farmers market, so finding food was not too difficult.

Lory and her husband are there to answer questions (we asked about driving to Kona, best places to go for a run in town - Lory coaches track at the high school, and for general in town direction or recommendations), but they are not in-your-face. They are very respectful of your space and vacation time.

The price for our five-night stay was fantastic, beter than a lot of the standard resort/hoteoptions that were around. Plus, none of those places would've made me gluten-free vegan scones.

I would Highly recommend Old Hawaiian B&B, and when we make it back to Hilo, we will book here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room which I believe is the largest and doesn't share walls with any ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A great place to stay. We were in the Bamboo the smallest room which was a great value. Yes the room was smaller but it was all we needed. The bed was comfortable the only thing was the walls were a little thinner for noise.
Our breakfast on the verandah over looking the tropical forest was wonderful and a great place to meet other people traveling from around the World. In the evening you could sit and relax in the verandah where it was quiet as there is no traffic beae by.
A very warm and inviting place to stay and in Hilo and close to the Volcano National Park. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stewart and Lori have a lot of experience running a B&B, and it shows. There is a big common lanai for all guests to use, with a nice table and chairs, a tea kettle and cups, and a small refrigerator. In each room is a bin with plates, utensils, wine glasses, mugs. These are washed and replaced daily, so it's easy to enjoy take-out dinners on the lovely, quiet lanai overlooking the big yard. Breakfast is at 8 and features beautifully arranged fruits from the yard, boiled eggs, and homebaked breads or coffee cakes as well as smoothies. The Bamboo Room, the smallest, was quite adequate for us, and had two chairs and a small table lamp for reading in the evening. We find that we don't need big rooms in Hawaii, if there's a lanai we can use, and there usually is. The location is a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of the Boiling Pots park on the Wailuku River. The rate has stayed the same for many years, a rarity in Hawaii, and is a very good value.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Room, at $80, is pleasantly decorated and has good light. The bathroom, which was added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again. I am happy that you had a good experience at our place. Thank you for writing a review . Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, had breakfast at the table with other guests for one morning and had a packed b'fast to go the next morning. Both were great and you do not go hungry! We stayed in the Bamboo room and by far it is the smallest but we were not there much so it worked out ok. The bathroom is very small as well. Given a choice I would have chosen one of the bigger rooms only for the space...Other than that we thought the place was great.We travel in the day a lot so only look for a clean, nice spot to sleep. And this was great! The yard was so nice to look at as we sat on the porch and it was very quiet!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stewart and Lori's relaxing B&B is located in a fabulous historic house built in the 1930's (I think), in a peaceful area of dignified houses and lush mature landscaping. The yards on their side of the street back up to a river gorge! The neighborhood will make you say, " This is exactly where I would want to live, if I lived in Hawaii," but luckily for you, you are on vacation and don't have to do the yardwork necessary to keep the tropical jungle manicured!
The yard of the B&B is full of 30 or more types of tropical fruit trees and all kinds of fascinating plants that you probably don't have in your garden at home.
The rooms here are comfortable and beautifully decorated, and the hosts have provided all sorts of extras for you: books, games, beach towels, and toiletries. Breakfast was really outstanding- seasonal tropical fruit salad (mine had star apple, which is a yummy purple glittery fruit which I had never had before), fruit smoothies, and the absolute best scones (macademia nut) that I have ever had.
Remember that B&Bs aren't for everyone! You will be a guest in someone's home and there will not be 24-hour services, like in a resort, BUT if you want a quiet, relaxing stay, helpful information on the area from long-time residents, AND a truly good deal, you will love the Old Hawaiian!!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions on the website about the different rooms (each is different) and book way in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

OLD HAWAIIAN b&b is the place to be in HILO!!! You really get the sense of isolation without being isolated :) You are really in the middle of nature and you just have to drive 2 mins to reach the center :) Do you want a nice and healthy breakfast? Stay here!! Do you want a cleanliness? Stay here!! Do you want silence? Stay here!! Do you want to hear the coquis? :) Stay here!!

It was really really wonderful our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
5.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
10.8 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hawaiian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hawaiian B&B

Address: 1492 Wailuku Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hawaiian B&B is a two story 'Olde Hawaiian Style' home located on 1/2 acre of gorgeous landscaped grounds, backing onto State-owned land, and the Wailuku River. It is situated in one of the most peaceful and tropical areas of Hilo, and only two blocks from the Boiling Pots Park, which has an overlook of the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Hawaiian Hotel Hilo
The Old Hawaiian Bed And Breakfast
The Old Hawaiian B&B Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Hawaiian B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.