We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suisan

Suisan
93 Lihiwai St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 967-20
(808)935-9349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 205 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Volcano, Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Freshest fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Suisan supplies most of the fresh fish to everywhere in Hilo. Going to the market is a real experience, not to be missed. They usually have hard to find (at least for Hilo) fish, and best of all, they are reasonably priced. They don't even price gouge during "fish eating" holidays.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    16
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poke Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hawaiian sushi is called Poke. Fresh ahi, super fresh fish with brown steamed rice and seaweed salad.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent poke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had our first ahi shoyu poke from Suisan. It was beyond delicious!
We had to compare every poke we bought from different places to the one we had in Suisan! It's that good.
They marinated the ahi with the perfect amount of salt, garlic, spring onion, shoyu, and seaweed.
They sell different varieties of poke and fish.
A must try if you like seafood and in Hilo area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freshest fish around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're from the mainland you wouldn't know a shop full of fish could have no smell but the ocean. High standards for freshness.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“poki - delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

one word - delicious. ordered a variety of poki and lomi lomi and each one was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back when we go back to Hilo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suisan also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Suisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.