We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest fish around.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suisan

Suisan
93 Lihiwai St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 967-20
(808)935-9349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freshest fish around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're from the mainland you wouldn't know a shop full of fish could have no smell but the ocean. High standards for freshness.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“poki - delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

one word - delicious. ordered a variety of poki and lomi lomi and each one was absolutely delicious. Definitely will go back when we go back to Hilo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious poke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is not a restaurant; it's a fish market. However, the poke is outstanding! This is a great place for a quick grab-and-go lunch.

My wife and I love sushi and all kinds of fish so we were looking for a quick place to eat after our helicopter tour at Hilo airport. We each ordered a poke bowl and took it up to the picnic table behind the restaurant to eat while we watched the water.

I just wish we were staying in Hilo so we could have gone back a few more times!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“FRESH POKE!!! Great Brown rice poke bowls at a very good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great selection of fresh local poke - yes it is mostly raw. Served on your choice of white or brown rice - or for those low carb people toss salad....fresh and healthy. This is not a this is not a tourist centered eatery- it is real people place to eat fresh fish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh fish right off the boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We always go here for the freshest fish. Their poke is great and they have a great variety. Whether you buy Ono, Ahi, Mahi Mahi or some other one of the great varieties they sell you will have fresh. You can also take it next door to the cafe to have it cooked.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suisan also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Suisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.