We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view but need a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
111 Honolii Place, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great view but need a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great view best part of this B B. Good size room which was good as we had three staying together.
You need a car to stay here so you can go out for your evening meal. We would have liked a jug in the room so that after dinner you could make a cup of tea, or early morning drink. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    47
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
133
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've only had one other experience with a B&B and it was a good one, which is what prompted us to try it again. We could not have had a better experience here. The breakfasts were phenominal. Maria is a great cook and eating out on the lanai every morning is a big plus. The property was immaculately kept and the views of the ocean were spectacular. The beds were comfortable and as far as our room went, the room was exactly as advertised on the website. We had a great time meeting the other guests and learning about their experiences. Rick was very knowledgable about the area and had lots of tips to help us enjoy Hilo and the surrounding areas. You really have all the comforts of home (and more) with the spectacular views, wonderfully kept property, watching the whales breaching right off the coast and those delicious breakfasts. In looking at some of the other reviews, I didn't see many that I felt were out of line, but I don't look for perfection in every single area. I am rating our overall experience and it couldn't have been better. The parking is not perfect, the rooms may not be brand spanking new, but overall, those things are very very insignificant to the overall experience. You will not be disappointed to stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have the same spectacular view. Read the room descriptions on the website and choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent place just outside Hilo, 5 min by car. The room faces the ocean, with a nice lanai where you can relax and look at the ocean. We were there in february so we were lucky enough to see many whales breaching out, just from our room. Totally awesome. The room is clean and Rick and Maria are very nice people with a lot of good advises on what to see in the area. The breakfast is probably the best one we had in all our vacation where we stayed at 5 different B&Bs. Fresh fruit with some very particular fruits that I never heard before (e.g. rambutan) and the macadamia pancakes were out of this world.
I definitely recommend this place and I will go back if I'll visit Hilo again (hopefully)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've stayed at the Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast every other year for eight years now and absolutely love the rooms, food and location. Sitting high on a cliff, breakfast is on a wonderful balcony overlooking the bay and most times you can enjoy dolphins or whales passing by as you dine on Maria's gourmet macadamia nut pancakes and sumptious tropical fruits. Even the coffee tastes richer and more flavorful here. The rooms are nicely decorated in a Hawaiian motif, always very clean and comfortable with the same wonderful bay view. Rick's knowledge of Geology and of the area provide current information about the volcano activity at the park and a host of sight seeing spots not to miss. It's the perfect location in Hilo and a fun place to stay. We would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have unique features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Able to watch whales spout from the backyard (Immediately by our room). Breakfasts were excellent. A bit of a shlep from the car to the room with luggage and the room could use some up-dating. Over-all, an excellent location and a very nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were not expecting a lot and we got what we expected. Parking is a nightmare. The rooms are o.k., but look better on the website than they are in real life. Breakfast is good, not a foodie experience. The bathroom was TINY.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We travel on a budget but we splurged and booked two nights in the Bamboo room so we could be right on the water for at least a portion of our stay on the island. I was able to enjoy a beautiful sunrise both mornings right from my bed which was wonderful. The breakfast was excellent both days, our favorite was the stuffed papaya. The bed was very comfortable and the walk in shower was great. You must walk by all the other rooms to get to the Bamboo room at the end so it is the most private. I don't know that I would have been comfortable sleeping with the drapes open otherwise. The door to the Bamboo room is through the commons area where the refrigerator and stairway to breakfast is located. I had to put in ear plugs the first night due to the noise from the frogs, although it is a very consistant noise. They were less noisy the second night and I didn't need earplugs. I can see where some people might have trouble with the driveway parking since it is slanted and tight but my husband didn't have any problems. The hosts were very nice and willing to answer any questions we had.

Room Tip: Bamboo room is the most private.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo
Address: 111 Honolii Place, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bath, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list