We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lots of it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
194 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2990
808-315-8246
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 190 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Hawaiian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Keaau, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have made this a regular lunch stop for us. I love the fish tacos. You order at the counter and then find a seat. A colorful paper mâché donkey with a Hispanic name goes with you to your table . This helps the wait staff to deliver your food. nothing fancy here but the staff is smiling and efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    41
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Rockies
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Sorry we believed the other reviews -wouldn't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Checked reviews to help select a place to eat when in Hilo. Ate here based on reviews. Very disappointed. $19 for my 3 small, okay soft tacos, 1 huge burrito, 1 soda. Burrito may have looked huge, but who fills a burrito with iceberg lettuce and fresh tomato? Nothing like we've ever seen in Mexico or Colorado, where we usually eat Mexican Food. Our bad for eating Mexican in Hawaii. No fresh salsa or pico de gallo, and when I asked about it, waitress was rude, made some snide remark and walked off. Wouldn't waste our money there again.
Tempted to rate a 1 just to counteract the 5's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pseudo Mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Lucy's especial burrito is a taco salad in a tortilla with about 2 tbs. beans and 2 tbs. ground beef. The staff was not very friendly or helpful. No fresh tomato or pico de gallo or red salsa. Just not that good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best vegetarian, Mexican food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to Lucy's for dinner on our way back from the Hawaii Volcano Park on the Big Island. This restaurant has the best salsa that I have had so far. Awesome vegetarian varieties to choose from (which is usually rare for us vegetarians)! Awesome potato burritoes. Never had those before.
A fun, lively, local hang out.

Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapana, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The people are so friendly and the food is oh so good! Lots of vegetarian selections and you can get a beer too! what more could a person want?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.