We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food this side of the island. Thank you for coming here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
194 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2990
808-315-8246
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 212 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pahoa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food this side of the island. Thank you for coming here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Finally good Mexican food has arrived! Everything is pretty good here. Great salsa bar and Al Pastor. If I had one complaint it would be the size of the Pazole soup bowl is too small.

Coming from Los Angeles, the lack of good Mexican food here on Big Island was a HUGE bummer. It was like an entire food group was missing. Finally the void has been filled.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    35
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff need to be more aware of food allergies (order taker did not know that flour tortilla shells are made from wheat!). That aside, we found staff to be cheerful and food to be very good quality and value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just missed the mark, but still pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First, Lucy's is good. Don't get me wrong. The chorizo in my burrito was really delicious and the fish tacos were great. However, the overall burrito experience was lacking due to them forgetting to put in all my goodies. I ordered the burrito especial and didn't get any of the sour cream, cheese, guacamole, none of that. Just the lettuce and tomato, which assured me that they were trying to make me the right thing. Without all the extras, the burrito was just a bit boring. I liked the atmosphere though and would definitely go back for a second try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Awesome place for some nice mexican food and drinks. Staff is very friendly and food comes out quick. Well worth a visit and a good pick for a downtown Hilo restaurant

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyb_ATL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A not to miss foodie experience! It's delish all around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Local joint that will rock your face off with the delish Mexican. Go with the recommendations if the menu is too hard to choose from. We did and it did not disappoint.

Best Mexican outside of Southern California.

Staff is friendly, fast and welcoming of tourists.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.