We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Hilo can offer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy's Taqueria

Lucy's Taqueria
194 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2990
808-315-8246
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 199 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Hilo can offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Coming from Southern California living in a place devoid of Mexican food is a foreign concept for me. Lucy's does a great job though of bringing authentic Mexican food to the Big Island. My personal favorite is the chicken taquitos. Also their fresh cooked salsa is to die for!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    61
    23
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Oh my! Say no to flautas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The wife and I got a wet burrito each and they were enormous. We shouldn't have ordered the flautas as well because they were very large and there was no way we were going to finish eating it all. Food was flavored well and not smothered in cheese (like we see some Mexican restaurants do). The salsa for the chips was unlike any we had had before and it wasn't to my personal liking.

When we arrived and got into line, one woman took our order using a small dry-erase type of menu card which she then handed to us as we waited to pay. We then paid for our food and received a small paper mache bull (named Cristobal) which we brought back to our table. When the food came out, they took the bull away. Service was fast.

Atmosphere was fun... Busy and noisy, and broken into areas for kitchen, dining, seating, etc. Somewhat messy layout, but not unclean.

Staff was VERY friendly and we wished our stay in Hilo was longer so that we could have visited again.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delightful find in downtown hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Extensive menu. Lots of interesting choices and combinations. Counter service, no frills, but still has atmosphere
and personal service. Would definitely recommend it, and would definitely return. A real find!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“authentic & casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great menu selection, family friendly, and quick service after ordering at the counter. Friendly and knowledgeable staff (cilantro-free recommendations given.) Best Mexican food I've eaten in Hilo. Half-block from D&S B&B where we stay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Onolicious mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Parked the car and walked downtown Hilo otherwise we probably would have never found it.Quaint location but very well done and clean restaurant. When we walked by we saw people lined up out the door and from my past experiences that usually means we're the last person to find out. Line went very quickly, very well organized establishment. Food was unbelievably good and very large portion. The $7.00 burrito could easily have fed 2. We made ours 'wet' which was well worth the $1.50 more. All the employees were very cordial. It will become a must stop for us when we venture to that side of the island again,which according to my wife is tomorrow just for the food. Highly recommended!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Taqueria also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lucy's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.