We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly place in downtown Hilo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D&S Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D&S Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added D&S Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
150 Kilauea Ave., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Booking
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
McCarthy, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly place in downtown Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place even for a higher cost, but given that we paid $90 a night it was absolutely amazing. You park on the street in downtown Hilo, then head through the gate into a little paradise, with birds singing and fruit on the table. Doug was very friendly and welcoming. We were only there 2 nights and gone from early until late on the day in between but thoroughly enjoyed the time we did spend.

Only suggestion for improvement would be on the breakfast. It was continental style, which was fine but didn't live up to the quality of the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha,
This young, active couple own a hiking guide business in Alaska and they stayed with us for two days after some reservation changes after one of them became ill while in Kona. We enjoyed talking to them about several different aspects of the travel industry. We are sorry that they were not impressed with the breakfast. Since they provide food for their clients who will spend a hard day hiking then they need to provide a hardy breakfast. Our breakfast is set up to serve many different types of tastes and so far we have had mosty good feedback which you can see from other reviews. Thank you for the greast review and we hope to see you again. Living every day of our lives in bliss!...D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
57
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Templeton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My mother and I stayed here over the summer for one evening in Hilo. Doug and Sue were the best hosts. They showed us to our room and gave us our privacy. I am so glad I chose to stay here, I will remember this visit forever. The food was fresh and healthy, and all of their fruit and veggies came out of their gorgeous year round garden in the back. We walked to the wonderful farmers market that was only a block away! I would love to come back here and stay longer. I miss Hilo!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thanks for including the photos. It was nice to see your faces again and it brought back memories of the time you spent here. We really enjoyed talking with this lady and her Mother. They were both very sweet and easy to be around. Thank you for the great review and we hope that you can return someday. Life in paradise is grand!...D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed at this B&B as a solo traveler for one night and we have also stayed here as a couple for another three nights. The location is very handy. The rooms are spotlessly clean. One can adjust the firmness of the beds, which is very nice. During breakfast there is a nice selection of food and the 24-7 fresh fruits serve as a good snack at any time. The owners are always glad to help and were very accommodating to our complicated travel plans. Do note that there is no TV in the room, however the free Wifi works just fine. This B&B is small, cute and cozy. It's perfect for a relaxing, calm stay in Hilo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha,
This sweet young lady from The Netherlands came to Hilo to observe up on Mauna Kea and stayed with us the first night when she arrived. After she had completed her job she was joined by her friend and they stayed a few nights before touring the Big Island. They then returned for their last night before they flew out. We chatted about our visit to Amsterdam a few years ago and other places we had visited. We love hosting international guests and learning about their lives. The future looks great and can't wait to see what tomorrow brings. Mahalo for the great review! D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The plantation style architecture is very cute/clean and the location in Hilo is unbeatable, but the main attraction of D&S Bed and Breakfast is the high quality of service offered by Doug and Sue. My wife and I were there on our honeymoon just over 3 weeks ago and we can not stop talking about how nice and thoughtful they are. There attention to small details was fantastic. They put a printout in the room of a walking tour that highlights some of the local historical buildings, also one with suggestions on where to go for nightlife and necessities. There was a box of hawaiian chocolates in our room waiting for us when we arrived. Our flight into Kona was delayed so we did not arrive in Hilo (the other side of the island) untill later in the evening, but Doug was out in front of the gate waiting to bring us in. In fact, Doug was on site most of our 3 night stay to answer any questions we had or if we just wanted a chat. Hilo would not have been the same if we would have stayed anywhere else. They deserve the #1 spot on trip advisor. Thanks again Doug and Sue, my wife and I hope to see you again some day.

Loved Our Stay,
Wil and Katie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Aloha,
This intelligent young couple was a real delight to host in our home. We feel sure that they succeed in whatever they choose in their life. We spent a lot of time chatting about life experences and the state of the world in general. It is always refreshing to meet young people who can carry on a conversation that doesn't sound like a text message. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again. Good luck with your food truck idea! Living out our dream. D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My spouse and I got married in Kona and decided to check out the Hilo side a few days later. We found this B & B on the internet with such great reviews and booked it. The B & B is super cute but can be a bit difficult to find but Doug made sure he met us at the gate. We were up graded to a larger suite and found a beautiful wedding card and box of chocolates awaiting us in our room. We were touched with how thoughtful they are. Location is great. It is only one block from downtown and the Hilo Farmers market. There is plenty of restaurants near by to choose from and all in walking distance. My parents were also staying at the B & B and enjoyed there stay. We highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Aloha,
We really enjoyed meeting this family and are glad they chose to stay with us. As you can see by the other reviews, we have a lot of honeymoon couples (another one from Japan coming next week) and we always try to do something special for them. We want every guest to know that they are welcome in our home and we listen to what they tell us about the events in their lives. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again. This is the world's best job!! D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Enjoyed this charming B&B during a quick overnighter to Hilo and will definitely be back!! Like other TripAdvisor reviewers, we were very warmly greeted by Doug and given a quick tour. Doug was so interesting to talk to and we learned a lot about the property, the surrounding area, and even tips for traveling around the world from him!! Our room was very clean and inviting. Loved the Hawaiian quilt bedspreads and extra touches like paper plates, bowls, & utensils in the mini kitchen area. D&S even includes Dawn and a NEW!! scrubber pad to wash the counter coffee pot & mugs. This came in handy to enjoy the complimentary papaya and coffee available 24/7 in the open air dining area. B&B is only a block away from the Hilo Farmers Market, Two Ladies Kitchen, Short & Sweet Bakery, KTA, and lots of other downtown restaurants and shops. Ceiling fan and open windows cooled the room nicely... absence of a/c not a concern during our stay. No TV, radio, or alarm clock in the room, so definitely a relaxing place. Complimentary wifi was nice for researching places to eat & visit. Thanks again Doug for a wonderful stay and being so flexible with our travel plans!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha,
We had so much fun talking with this couple from Honolulu that just came over for one night but we feel sure they will be back. We not only cater to international guest but also host a lot of "locals" who are looking for a private getaway to escape to. Rest and relaxation is what we offer and it seems that is what a lot of people are seeking. Thanks for the great review and we will see you again soon. This is the best job in the world!!..D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

During our stay on the big island, we decided last minute to escape the bustle of KailuaKona for an overnight visit to the quieter side of the island. Surfing the internet while driving, we found this charming little place rated highly on Trip Advisor, and it sounded like a good fit. It is tucked away from street. Sue met us & waved, or we would have missed it! It has a very inviting gated entrance and you walk past tropical tree ferns and up some wide stairs to my favorite part: an open-air (but covered) center courtyard, to which all of the rooms open onto. This is also where breakfast is served. Doug and Sue offer warm southern hospitality. We had a nice visit while having breakfast and he gave us a short tour, when he told us the history of this original Old Hawaii Hotel. The furnishings are simple, clean and very well maintained. Lovely Hawaiian quilts adorn the beds, and most importantly - the sheets were good and the beds were comfortable, especially because they are the type that you can adjust your own firmness - which we really appreciated. Breakfast was a HUGE spread of fruit,cereals, breads, pretty much anything you could possibly want. The location is ideal, within walking distance to many shops and restaurants so no need to use the car. The room rate was a good value and for all of these reasons, we will certainly be back, as we want to spend more time exploring this side of Kona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougiegreen, Owner at D&S Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Aloha,
We are so glad that this couple found us. They were so nice and easy to talk to. Both are very intelligent and she gave us the idea about putting a tripadvisor widget on our Facebook business page so people can read our reviews directly from there. Thank you very much for that. We are sad they only stayed one night but we feel pretty sure that we will see them again. Thank you so much for your excellent review. Loving every single day of our job. D&S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D&S Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&S Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Kilauea Ave., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approximately 4 miles from the airport within walking distance of numerous restaurants, Hilo Farmers Market, museums, grocery stores, and Mooheau Bus Terminal are 5 beautiful units for rent by the day, week or long term. Catering to the independent traveler, we offer reasonable rates, cleanliness, convenience, privacy and security. The Suite offers separate kitchen area with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dining table with chairs, 1 queen size bed, and private bath. The Bedroom Unit offers 1 queen and 1 twin bed, coffee maker, refrigerator, dining table with chairs and private bath. The economy room offers a twin bed, a divided area which includes a futon, desk, table and chair, refrigerator, coffee maker and toaster. The covered lanai area is a great place to visit with friends and family, eat, play games, read or just enjoy the tropical breezes. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D&S Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D&S Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.