We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm, mochi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Ladies Kitchen

Two Ladies Kitchen
274 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2948
808-961-4766
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 205 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm, mochi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Freshly made mochi, with a twist. This is for take out only. This Japanese dessert of pounded rice with a typical sweet bean center is usually a rare treat. The varieties they offer are delicious and interesting. The strawberry mochi is to be eaten the same day and was the best I've had. A friend had heard about it and told me to visit when we were in Hilo. Took a bit of looking around to find it across from the craft store parking lot. I make my own homemade mochi, so I have tried new variations with their inspiration! Thank you!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    51
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just a little hole in the wall place but they make the best in Hawaii. We had the fresh strawberry one. It was great!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mochi Galore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a little place filled with lots of variety of mochi. We found it through lonely planet and decided to check it out. The response of others walking in the door behind us suggested we were in for a treat. The little packages on the counter were enticing - well presented and colourful. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed. If you love mochi and variety then this is a great place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great visit place for tourist. The Mochi is the very best and while there try to get a glimpse of the back room.....Just fun to see all the action in the kitchen, I understand mostly family work there. Very Special place. Aloha!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Mochi ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a treat! This small store front wouldn't be noticed by most, but inside is the best mochi we've ever had. Try the fresh strawberry mochi when in season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Ladies Kitchen also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Two Ladies Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Ladies Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.