We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get this wherever you can find it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Homemade Ice Cream - CLOSED

Hilo Homemade Ice Cream
1477 Kalanianaole Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4941
(808) 935-3895 ‎
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“get this wherever you can find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of the better ice creams on the planet plus it's made locally. I particularly like ginger and green tea flavors and sometimes get a cone or cup with one of each. Several restaurants in Hilo serve this ice cream so it is available at more places than the Kalanianaole store.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mmmm.. Ginger ice cream my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Best ice cream to be had in Hilo ! Locally made, exotic flavors such as Green Tea, Ginger, and more. Creamy and fresh. Been in service to Hilo for several years. Great to visit on the way back from Richardson's Beach Park in Kealakekua.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank aquariantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum! Ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What better place to have ice cream than when you're hot and in Hawaii? This ice cream is very good. I especially like the coconut flavor and have to have it every time we visit there. The ginger is really good, too. Living in Cincinnati, people love Graeter's,and in Hawaii, you can get shave ice in lots of flavors, but I'll take Hilo Homemade.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jinnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stopped in here our first day to ask directions to our accommodation and were greater by friendly helpful people and went back the next day for some yummy ice cream. There were lots of favors to chose from and we were invited to enjoy our selections in the back garden with some cats chicken and fish :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“ice cream and backyard gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

they were out of the banana mac nut brownie ice cream, but we had the mudslide, kona coffee and coconut ice creams and they were lovely! we strolled through the old botanical gardens and learned about the plants while eating our yummy ice cream. it is definitely off the beaten track and a homespun experience to have!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing