We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get this wherever you can find it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Homemade Ice Cream

Hilo Homemade Ice Cream
1477 Kalanianaole Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4941
(808) 935-3895 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 203 restaurants in Hilo
Restaurant details
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“get this wherever you can find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

One of the better ice creams on the planet plus it's made locally. I particularly like ginger and green tea flavors and sometimes get a cone or cup with one of each. Several restaurants in Hilo serve this ice cream so it is available at more places than the Kalanianaole store.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    31
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mmmm.. Ginger ice cream my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Best ice cream to be had in Hilo ! Locally made, exotic flavors such as Green Tea, Ginger, and more. Creamy and fresh. Been in service to Hilo for several years. Great to visit on the way back from Richardson's Beach Park in Kealakekua.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yum! Ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What better place to have ice cream than when you're hot and in Hawaii? This ice cream is very good. I especially like the coconut flavor and have to have it every time we visit there. The ginger is really good, too. Living in Cincinnati, people love Graeter's,and in Hawaii, you can get shave ice in lots of flavors, but I'll take Hilo Homemade.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped in here our first day to ask directions to our accommodation and were greater by friendly helpful people and went back the next day for some yummy ice cream. There were lots of favors to chose from and we were invited to enjoy our selections in the back garden with some cats chicken and fish :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“ice cream and backyard gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

they were out of the banana mac nut brownie ice cream, but we had the mudslide, kona coffee and coconut ice creams and they were lovely! we strolled through the old botanical gardens and learned about the plants while eating our yummy ice cream. it is definitely off the beaten track and a homespun experience to have!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.