We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Star of Hilo Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstruck Patisserie

Moonstruck Patisserie
16 Furneaux Ln, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2828
808-933-6868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Star of Hilo Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Unfortunately, I came to fine pastries late in life. But fortunately, I was able to learn from the best. My wife brought me to Moonstruck a year or so ago, and under her tutelage, I have been learning to enjoy, what I’ve been told, are some of the finest pastries available anywhere.

I started with what was common to me. Bacon and cheese croissants, curry puffs, cheese puffs, those things. But I was used to eating supermarket quality croissants, and going to Moonstruck taught me what I missed. Then I was able to progress to the cakes, tortes, and other things in the cool box. I recently had Torte Amore (pictured) and I realized what I’ve been missing.

But, alas, all is not perfect. The owner is the only chef. When she runs out of something, it is out for the day. And now that Hilo has become aware of the gem they have, you have to come early. Also, the menu changes according to the season, or sometimes maybe, according to the chef’s whims. So I don’t always get my beloved curry puffs. If you have a little lactose intolerance, please bring your pills. She uses real cream in what she prepares, and the restaurant is small.

Christmas time is also special there. Her fruit cakes are they only fruit cake I have ever enjoyed. Also, she will make a German or Austrian cookie. I can never remember the name, but it is one of the very best cookies I have ever tasted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must if in Hilo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Best sweets in Hilo, in Hawaii, and most likely in the US... Great find in downtown Hilo, little shop with a great variety of european style patisserie freshly made every day. They are cheating on the coffee a bit, it is from south america (not Kona), still the place is a must if in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Vacationing in Hilo for a week, my husband and I discovered this wonderful little patisserie a short walk from the farmer’s market. What a find! Over the course of our stay we sampled a variety of croissants, quiches and cakes and everything we tried was exceptional! The well balanced flavors ranged from perfectly savory to just the right amount of sweetness. (The pear galette was sensational!) No matter what we tried, it was love at first bite! The friendly service was provided by the pastry chef herself. Moonstruck is a one-woman business, preparing delectable pastries from scratch with the finest ingredients. We are being flooded by big chain fast-food outlets, serving over-processed, artificially flavored edibles. In this day and age to come upon this gem of a patisserie, devoted to outstanding quality without taking any shortcuts, is outstanding!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An absolute Godsend for someone with a discerning sweet tooth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I visit the Patisserie nearly every week. It's a slice of heaven for a SF Bay Area refugee. Sometimes I stay for a bite, and sometimes I just get a box to go. Everything is luscious because Jackie makes each item from scratch every morning. She is a world-class pastry chef.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

They are open Wednesday to SAturday, so eat there all you can. Only 3 tables, so get it to go. Everything in there is worth eating. If you park around the farmers market area, you can walk there rather than try and find a place to park. If all the places in town were this good, Hilo would be a place not to be missed. Sorely, that is not the case.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstruck Patisserie also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moonstruck Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstruck Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.