We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here in the past and was pleasantly surprised with the newly renovated rooms during this stay. Awesome decor and feel - very sheik and modern and very spacious - this time as I slept I could not hear a thing from outside - not even them pesty Coquis.

Staff were also very polite and helpful as always especially the Aunty at the FD with all the Hawaiian Bracelets lol - I always feel like Im visiting family when I check-in. I look forward to my next visit in September. Thank You!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    423
    399
    106
    43
See reviews for
301
434
59
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were nicely surprised by the Hilo Hotel. Very conveniently located to downtown Hilo, it was easy to get to Volcano on one side and the Hawaii Tropical Garden on the other. Our room had a bay view and was clean and spacious. It was easy to have a morning walk on Coconut Island and the Liliuokalani Gardens. We didn't eat in the large restaurant with the buffet, but preferred eating in the bar. They don't really push their bar for eating, but we found the food very good. I used the pool a. Couple of times. It could use some refurbishing and the outdoor pool furniture should be replaced, but it was still a nice place to cool off. I would definitely stay here again.

Kudos to the entire staff...while we were in our room one morning there was a power outage on the whole street. The hotel quickly had staff on all floors in the stairwells to make sure guests could exit safely.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I must admit. The rooms at the Hilo Hawaiian turned out to be much nicer than I expected. They are roomy, clean and quiet. We could not hear any noise going on outdoors. Even the croqui frogs could not be heard. We do wish that the hotel had a regular coffee shop where we could get a small bite to eat or coffee anytime during the day. The lobby area is large but not very welcoming. I think they way the furniture is laid out makes it so. It looks quite disconnected. The staff is very friendly except no one showed up w/the hair dryer I requested. In all, we had a very nice time and glad we booked the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, book the lagoon view. It's beautiful when the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hilo is not a flashy touristy destination, so if you are looking for a resort that looks like a TV commercial, you might want to try the Kona side of the island instead, or Maui. That said, Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the best option you can find in Hilo. It may have popcorn ceiling and no gym, but if you are looking for a place to stay while on business or on your way to the volcano park or observatory, there is no better alternative. Rooms are clean and air conditioned, beds are comfortable, and at least some rooms have a refrigerator. Service at the restaurant is prompt and with a smile, people at registration and the concierge desk are very helpful. Tip: when checking in, ask for buffet $$ off coupons.

Room Tip: When checking in, ask for buffet $$ off coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. The Bayfront location is very convenient to downtown Hilo and area attractions. The hotel - althoug older - is in good shape with well appointed rooms and comfortable beds. Preventing a rating of 5 are the pool (very small with limited hours) and the expensive in room internet (although the wi-fi is free in the lobby).

Room Tip: splurge for the oceanview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is quite a good three star hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We mistakenly parked our hire car under a tree and found it absolutely covered in bird poo in the morning (possibly Ibis or even giant flying elephants!) The maintenance staff were fantastic and helped us get it off before it set like concrete. Parking is free and we made sure we parked in the under cover car park the next night.
Negatives - no safe or wifi in the rooms, also no hairdryer, ironing board (however housekeeping will provide you with one if required) or full length mirror.
It is only a five minute drive to the airport. Very convenient for an early morning flight.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We normally stay at the Hilo Hawaiian when we drive over from Kona. The rooms have been updated a bit and the kamaaina rate is reasonable. Location is excellent. Parking is still free where Honolulu charges for parking. Wish they had free internet but everything else was fine for our two day stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.