We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but very old Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
edmonton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but very old Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is a tower on the beach with tide pools and a Japanese garden next door. The lobby is spacious and welcoming but the rooms themselves were very dates with old bed spreads, carpet and a musty smell. This place could be beautiful if they renovate but right now I would not recommend the dirty musty rooms. The ocean view was nice and we had a balcony overlooking the water which we enjoyed. There a was quick check in an decent service at the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Aloha! Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. I really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences.

Our new owners hear you and we will be undergoing a refreshment of the guest rooms and corridors starting on April 15th. This process will be completed by the end of September and I am sure you will be pleased with the results.

Thank you again and I hope you will be able to visit us during your next trip to the Big Island of Hawaii and share what you think of our new refreshed guest rooms and corridors.

Aloha & Mahalo,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    423
    399
    106
    43
See reviews for
301
434
59
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night during our visit to the big island. The hotel location is really great and grounds are just lovely. The lobby was really nice too. The room on the other hand was very outdated. I felt like we stepped back into the 1970s. The AC was very loud. No hair dryer in the room either. We had make plans for a helicopter ride out of Hilo airport at 9am. When we returned to the hotel breakfast was no longer available and we were on our own. Overall it was an okay place to stop. I wouldn't have been happy if we stayed for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is like 10 mins away from Hilo airport and central to all Hilo attractions. It is also one of the more reasonably-priced hotels in the area, but that's about it. It is an old hotel and you can definitely smell that distinctly old smell in the room. Parking is free which is rare in Hawaii. If you're not that picky, this hotel is ok especially when you just have to have a place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

During our recent vacation to the Big Island, we took a trip from Kona to Hilo and stayed overnight at the Castle Hilo. This hotel can recommended and I was concerned when I looked it up and it was only a three star hotel. Yes...I will admit to being a hotel snob and usually only stay at 4-5 stars. Since there are no true four star hotels in downtown Hilo (that I could find), I decided to give the Castle Hilo a try. I was glad that I did. I had a great stay even though it was brief. The service was superior all across the board and the on site restaurant surprisingly outstanding as well. The room was a little outdated however everything was clean and most importantly the room was quiet. I will stay here again the next time I visit Hilo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in January 2013. Parking was plentiful and best of all, free!
Check in only took a few minutes. Hotel staff was friendly.

We stayed at room 624. The room was pretty depressing because it looked so dated; it looked like a room that time forgot. Everything's old from the wallpaper to the carpet to the bedspread to the furniture to the toilet. There's no room safe to store our valuables. I don't think they have a hairdryer either (but i think it's available upon request). They do have complimentary coffee to use with the coffeemaker. We didn't have any problem with the noise from the croqui frogs because we were on the 6th floor; we just closed the balcony door and turned on the a/c at night. Our room had a mini fridge so my husband was able to buy some bottles of beer and some poke from nearby Suisun Market. I think an upgrade to ocean view is worth it because it is the saving grace to an otherwise depressing room. The view of Hilo Bay is just fantastic. You can just sit in the balcony with coffee in hand and enjoy the rising of the sun. Or you can have a cold beer and some poke while waiting for the sun to set...whatever suits your fancy.

One thing I like about Hilo Hawaiian is it's just next door to Liliuokalani Gardens and Coconut Island... great spot to take a walk and snap some photos. You don't need a car to get there, but I do recommend renting a car if you're staying in Hilo. There's so much to explore -- Akaka Falls, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Kea, etc.

Overall, despite Hilo Hawaiian's dated rooms, we still had a good night's sleep at the end of a long, tiring day. And to us, that's all that really matters.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view, request for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As others have said - one night here is plenty! The outside is nice and the lobby lovely, but the rooms are sad. First, we were given the wrong room (2 double beds instead of a king) but that was quickly remedied. Our next room was large, but very sparse. It had a king bed - with a bedspread that had seen better days. It had threads pulled out all over and a small hole in it. The furniture was very old and damaged looking. The walls were drab and it appeared that furniture had been moved, leaving areas that were faded. The curtain was falling off the rod and the outlets looked as if they could fall off any moment. The room had a musty smell - in fact, the whole place had an odor about it. The bar/cafe area smelled of dishwater. We supposedly had a "deluxe oceanview" - I wonder what the standard rooms were like! On the plus side - the view from the balcony was beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful and the best smelling place was the lobby restroom - although it hadn't been dusted since Carter was president! For a night - doable. For a week - forget it! Oh - no hairdryers in the room, but if you ask in the lobby they will lend you one. Huh?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you can. If not, get a high floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I pretty well second the comments of the previous 3 reviews. It's OK - but the hotel has no "panache". It seems like management is content with being the best hotel in Hilo - even if that best is mediocre. Our room was fine (nice ocean view, but this (lowest) floor had no balcony. Like most Big Island hotels, no beach to swim at. I was astonished at how abysmal the swimming pool was. The (boringly rectangular) pool itself was properly maintained but seemed a total after-thought. It's stuck out at one end of the hotel, surrounded with an uncomfortable-to-walk-on concrete deck (which looks like it is never swept), with a few deck chairs scattered about. There is no direct access from the hotel! You either walk across the grass from the back door (halfway along the hotel) or through the covered parking lot. Want a pool towel? You have to knock on the door of housekeeping off the covered parking lot.
No shops No fitness center.
The food was good, though. And staff were friendly and helpful.
It is a short distance from the Town of Hilo (but slightly too far to walk comfortably). Interesting town to walk around.
Driving from Hilo to Kona? Check out the Kohala Ditch Adventure (it's much more fun than itsounds) check their website.- near the northern tip of the island. Easy to do it on the way. Great fun!).

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy looking at a road (and sitting in the shade) you must get an ocean view room (even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.