We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot of choices in Hilo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not a lot of choices in Hilo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed the night in Hilo as we had spent the day exploring Volcano National Park. We booked a room at this hotel because it was the best choice for the price (around $100/night). Our first room faced the front of the hotel and was a little dark so we ended up "upgrading" for $15 to a Bay Front room which was worth it. The carpet was worn, the bed spreads were those old polyester type, and the room in general was quite dated. However, they did have flat screen TVs in the room and good cable TV. The staff was pleasant and professional. We also enjoyed the $37 buffet dinner (we were there on a Friday) that had prime rib and crab legs. The executive chef at this restaurant was working behind the buffet and was very friendly. He was sincere about wanting to make sure you were enjoying the dinner. If you feel like indulging, I would recommend tis hotel buffet dinner. Given the relatively low price and lack of great choices in Hilo, I would stay at this hotel again if I had to go to Hilo. My advice if you're doing the Volcano Park for the day is to drive to a nicer resort in Kona. You're not missing much if you miss out on Hilo.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bay front room, even for a small upgrade charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    422
    398
    106
    43
See reviews for
299
434
59
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayded for 3 nights in this hotel and I was satisfied. Room was outdated but clean and comfortable and this hotel has a nice atmosphere. The location of this hotel is very good with easy access to the downtown.
I loved birds singing during the sundown I could it in my balcony - It was so great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Dec. 17-18 and found the hotel rather unpleasant. The room smelled of mold an the card keys repeatedly failed. Our family ate in the bar restaurant. I ordered a steak "rare" and it came back "well done." The Chinese woman at the front desk was rude and had no idea about how to great guests or be pleasant to customers. When we explained how at the time of the reservation the hotel billed my credit card more than she had on her record, she simply said "You talk to your credit card company." and provided no help trying to sort out why the hotel reservations people may have added the extra charges. The view and the location were good, but I would look elsewhere to stay or eat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel – having arrived late in the day from Volcano and Puna.

Our room which was a good size was on the garden/street side of the building where we were serenaded by coqui frogs in the evening and birds in the morning and late afternoon. The downside of being on this side of the hotel is that the rooms have no fridge – we kept our milk cold in the ice bucket! The corridor leading to our room was very long and dreary – in desperate need of a makeover. Parking is very convenient and free.

The location is quiet and leafy – huge banyan trees planted by 1930s celebrities line Banyan Drive with parks and Coconut Island nearby. However it is a long way from central Hilo.

One evening we ate in the restaurant which was very good value – especially the chocolate brownie/ice cream dessert to share.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip. The hotel is overall very nice. Slightly musty smell to the room on the ocean view side but clean. There is free wifi in the lobby but not the rooms. Room is also missing hair dryer and microwave that you might find in other hotels. The view was great and there is a beautiful park just outside the hotel. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: Defitely want to be on the ocean side in the middle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Had to leave cruise ship for medical reasons and this was hotal reccommended to us by ship's shore agent. Nice choice. Clean but musty room overlooking land side. Easy to walk to local restaurant and we spent lot of time walking around the small island overlooking the Bay and the Japonese gardens.
Had buffet breakfast twice with complimentary discount. Lot of choices, lovely fresh fruit and usual fare. Kona coffee was good and strong!
Staff pleasant and helpful. Generally quiet. They have a pizza place under some kind of contract to again have fast delivery and used the discount coupon given to us by the front desk..
There is a golf course across the road but never tried it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel was a Hilo original for travellers to the Big Island. Well located with dramatic views of Hilo Bay, which is peaceful and undeveloped, (reminiscent of the view from the Royal Hawaiian over Waikiki - 50 years ago). The town of Hilo is the real Hawaiia and the great service, location and facility of the Hilo Hawaiian is the right hotel.
It has a restaurant that has seafood buffets a few nights a week. Well worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.