We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best shave ice, friendliest people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson's by the Bay

Wilson's by the Bay
141 Mamo St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
(808) 969-9191
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 203 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best shave ice, friendliest people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

They grow orchids too and make their own vanilla shave ice flavor. They will reopen at a new location.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    21
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall, but!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It's just a little hole in the wall, and you might have to hone in on it or miss it. BUT, they have the best Shaved Ice ever! No matter what flavor, you "must" order cream on top. With or without the cream, the ice is shaved light and fluffy. Yummy! Yummy! Yummy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Shave Ice (I assume)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

From everything I've read, THIS is what shave ice is supposed to be.

We had stopped by another place on Oahu earlier in our trip and got shave ice from a food truck. Turned out to be just a snow cone. But Wilson's - not much to look at either inside or out - does ONLY shave ice and does it well on their antique of a machine.

It's like very soft snow, and of course sweet. We got a mix of coconut, pineapple, and banana syrups and the addition of 'cream' is an absolute must. The regular size for us was a perfect finish to our meal at Lucy's. And the $3.00 price tag is a steal.

Very nice conversation with the girl making them as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I Can't Remember Shaved Ice So Good Since I Was a KID!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

There are a couple of Wilson's: this one that is sandwiched between the old shops of downtown Hilo, and some sort of stand that is closer to the Farmer's Market. This little shop is the one you want. The ice is like packed snow. There is no crunch, just melt-in-your-mouth flavor. The picture I'm submitting shows the smallest size they serve-- so be forewarned that these are huge snow cones. The flavors are all great and you can mix up a few. We liked the passion fruit the best. The service is very friendly and the shop has an Old Hawaii feel, like most of downtown Hilo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The shaved ice is absolutely amazing. The shop has the nicest workers, they were always polite and friendly. They often would explain different local flavors. They sell some other items, like shirts and dried fruits, but the shaved ice is why most people visit. They had lots of flavors and when you added creme, yum. The local flavors are fantastic like li hing mui and lychee. I always love getting rainbow flavors, amazing. Best shaved ice I've ever had. This place is a hidden gem! I found out about this place through yelp, the yelp page has some informative pics including a basic menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilson's by the Bay also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wilson's by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson's by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.