We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe

Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe
Bay Front Hilo, 168 Kamehameha Avenue, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
8089351166
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 199 restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Thai
Description: It is always good to ask local residents where they would eat. What a treasure. Organic good food, homemade and prepared from scratch.
Restaurant details
Description: It is always good to ask local residents where they would eat. What a treasure. Organic good food, homemade and prepared from scratch.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like almost every other shop on the main drag of Hilo, this place is a little funky. But if you are hungry it is really great! The décor is a bit lacking but we enjoyed the huge posters of the many varieties of avocado found on the island. It is also a small place and was jammed around the lunch hour…we waited until about 1:30 and were able to get right in.
The first thing to know is, they serve family style and the portions are huge. We had six people and ordered 4 salads (each had a very distinctive combination of vegies and spices) and one “Thai Pizza”. We waddled out.
The salads were all made with very fresh ingredients – I would bet they walked down the street to the farmers market that morning. The Thai Pizza was more like a giant quesadilla – shrimp and vegies rolled up in a huge basil tortilla. It was really tasty! They asked us if we wanted mild or hot and we chose mild. They could have added a side of hot sauce for those who wanted it but we did not complain.
If you like ginger try the ginger smoothie…they add plenty of ginger and it is really good.
My only regret is that I did not get to try one of the soups...a person next to us had one and it smelled wonderful -- and like everything else the bowl was huge!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    19
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The dining area lacked ambiance sort of junky looking, the service was just okay. The food was good, we order a shrimp quesadilla, very large portion, filled with sweet potatoes, pineapple, it was different, but good. We also had the black bean fish, moist and flavorful. Everything tasted fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Tina, the owner, uses indgredients from her garden to make delicious food. My wife, Tai, who is a Thai states that Tina's food is soooo good. I had one of Tina's unique Thai pizza dishes and could not believe how good it was. You can tell by the taste that all the indrediients are truely fresh from her garden.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious Thai home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of the Tourist Information office. It was one of nicest meals we had while traveling in Hawaii.
We ordered the Pineapple Curry and a Tom Kha with chicken. The soup was huge and enough to feed all 5 of us (2 adults, 3 children). Make sure you try the delicious smoothies.
Service was lovely and very attentive. Thanks!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Flavors that stand out from other restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Sometimes it's the hole-in-the-wall that surprises you. This restaurant has a different menu on Thursday through Sunday, a hot pot menu, that I felt was completely uninspired. But, we went back almost a year later to try the full menu and we were happily surprised. The salad was off the chain good. I had the special fish "pizza" which is really more of a crepe. They should consider changing the name to crepe, as they might get more people to try them. I was not enthralled with it because I don't really like pineapple with my fish, but that is a matter of personal taste. I thought it was good all the same. I stopped eating it and finished my meal with the starter salad and was completely satisfied. I did think it was a bit pricey, even for Hilo's Bayfront.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.