We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe

Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe
Bay Front Hilo, 168 Kamehameha Avenue, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
18089351166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 193 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Fusion, American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: It is always good to ask local residents where they would eat. What a treasure. Organic good food, homemade and prepared from scratch.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The dining area lacked ambiance sort of junky looking, the service was just okay. The food was good, we order a shrimp quesadilla, very large portion, filled with sweet potatoes, pineapple, it was different, but good. We also had the black bean fish, moist and flavorful. Everything tasted fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Tina, the owner, uses indgredients from her garden to make delicious food. My wife, Tai, who is a Thai states that Tina's food is soooo good. I had one of Tina's unique Thai pizza dishes and could not believe how good it was. You can tell by the taste that all the indrediients are truely fresh from her garden.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious Thai home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of the Tourist Information office. It was one of nicest meals we had while traveling in Hawaii.
We ordered the Pineapple Curry and a Tom Kha with chicken. The soup was huge and enough to feed all 5 of us (2 adults, 3 children). Make sure you try the delicious smoothies.
Service was lovely and very attentive. Thanks!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Flavors that stand out from other restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Sometimes it's the hole-in-the-wall that surprises you. This restaurant has a different menu on Thursday through Sunday, a hot pot menu, that I felt was completely uninspired. But, we went back almost a year later to try the full menu and we were happily surprised. The salad was off the chain good. I had the special fish "pizza" which is really more of a crepe. They should consider changing the name to crepe, as they might get more people to try them. I was not enthralled with it because I don't really like pineapple with my fish, but that is a matter of personal taste. I thought it was good all the same. I stopped eating it and finished my meal with the starter salad and was completely satisfied. I did think it was a bit pricey, even for Hilo's Bayfront.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most Inspired Thai Delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

What a find! Tucked into a cubbyhole in downtown Hilo, this intimate little cafe offers endless tempting offerings, including Thai pizza! We were awed by all the original creations presented. The local fish is marvelous. The coconut-pumpkin soup is the most delicious we've ever had. Tina herself delivered our order. The ingredients are fresh, organic, and local. Service is prompt, friendly and helpful. The extensive menu will take several return trips to explore. Some entrees are pricey but the portions are enormous, and the quality gourmet indeed, so worth every penny. We highly recommend this little gem.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.