We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe

Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe
Bay Front Hilo, 168 Kamehameha Avenue, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
18089351166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 198 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Fusion, Asian, Thai, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: It is always good to ask local residents where they would eat. What a treasure. Organic good food, homemade and prepared from scratch.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The dining area lacked ambiance sort of junky looking, the service was just okay. The food was good, we order a shrimp quesadilla, very large portion, filled with sweet potatoes, pineapple, it was different, but good. We also had the black bean fish, moist and flavorful. Everything tasted fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Tina, the owner, uses indgredients from her garden to make delicious food. My wife, Tai, who is a Thai states that Tina's food is soooo good. I had one of Tina's unique Thai pizza dishes and could not believe how good it was. You can tell by the taste that all the indrediients are truely fresh from her garden.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious Thai home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of the Tourist Information office. It was one of nicest meals we had while traveling in Hawaii.
We ordered the Pineapple Curry and a Tom Kha with chicken. The soup was huge and enough to feed all 5 of us (2 adults, 3 children). Make sure you try the delicious smoothies.
Service was lovely and very attentive. Thanks!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hangingoutwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Flavors that stand out from other restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Sometimes it's the hole-in-the-wall that surprises you. This restaurant has a different menu on Thursday through Sunday, a hot pot menu, that I felt was completely uninspired. But, we went back almost a year later to try the full menu and we were happily surprised. The salad was off the chain good. I had the special fish "pizza" which is really more of a crepe. They should consider changing the name to crepe, as they might get more people to try them. I was not enthralled with it because I don't really like pineapple with my fish, but that is a matter of personal taste. I thought it was good all the same. I stopped eating it and finished my meal with the starter salad and was completely satisfied. I did think it was a bit pricey, even for Hilo's Bayfront.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TedinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most Inspired Thai Delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

What a find! Tucked into a cubbyhole in downtown Hilo, this intimate little cafe offers endless tempting offerings, including Thai pizza! We were awed by all the original creations presented. The local fish is marvelous. The coconut-pumpkin soup is the most delicious we've ever had. Tina herself delivered our order. The ingredients are fresh, organic, and local. Service is prompt, friendly and helpful. The extensive menu will take several return trips to explore. Some entrees are pricey but the portions are enormous, and the quality gourmet indeed, so worth every penny. We highly recommend this little gem.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tina's Gourmet Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing