We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Hilo gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puff City - CLOSED

Puff City
187 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2907
808-961-6964
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Puff City is a bakery/restaurant in Hilo HI offering the most unique and delicious desserts imaginable, including November's special, Roasted Kabocha (local pumpkin) mousse with a cinnamon/white chocolate ganache and Cranberry mousse dusted with powdered sugar. Of course they have the usual chocolate cream with white chocolate ganache cream puff, and liliko'i cream filling with coconut frosting. They also have sandwiches (they bake their own bread) and will do cakes to order. Every month they do fundraisers for East Hawai'i charities. They're located right in downtown Hilo, with easy parking. I think they're the most wonderful bakery in America and think you should list them.
Restaurant details
Description: Puff City is a bakery/restaurant in Hilo HI offering the most unique and delicious desserts imaginable, including November's special, Roasted Kabocha (local pumpkin) mousse with a cinnamon/white chocolate ganache and Cranberry mousse dusted with powdered sugar. Of course they have the usual chocolate cream with white chocolate ganache cream puff, and liliko'i cream filling with coconut frosting. They also have sandwiches (they bake their own bread) and will do cakes to order. Every month they do fundraisers for East Hawai'i charities. They're located right in downtown Hilo, with easy parking. I think they're the most wonderful bakery in America and think you should list them.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another Hilo gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My favorite is still the lilikoi (passion fruit) puff, but all the other flavors taste just as awesome! Coffee, mocha, chocolate, vanilla, lilikoi, guava and coconut are some of their standard flavors. The lilikoi hi-lites sounded good too, but they were sold out, so I have to try them on my next visit. They also bake cookies, scones, macaroons, brownies manju and muffins, and have ham, turkey, and pastrami sandwiches for lunch.
Although their published hours are 7 am to 2 pm Wednesdays through Saturdays, they close as soon as they sell out of cream puffs on Saturdays, so order ahead or time or go early. They bake less than a hundred puff shells each day, so it's not uncommon for them to run out before lunch. Street parking a half a block away was plentiful on Saturday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a desert place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have had many of these creative ladies pasteries and they are all wonderful so endulge your tastebuds and find them in Hilo town.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rev Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cream Puffs in Hilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I needed to pick up dessert for a family event and asked a local bank where would a good place be to pick up pastries. I was directed to a place called PUFF CITY in Hilo town. It wasn't very hard to find but street parking can be a bit challenging.

Very charming place - nice sign on the outside - just 2 or 3 workers inside, and by 9:30am most of the cream puffs were sold. I asked for the lilikoi (passion fruit) puffs which were all sold out, but persistence paid off and when I said I would buy 24 of them, the kind crew member obliged. We chose a variety of other puff flavors (i.e. lychee and ginger, chocolate, coconut, etc.) and also tried some puff pastries with poha berry (similar to gooseberries) and ohelo berry (the food of the Hawaiian Nene goose found on the slopes of the volcanoes). Those puffs were great and we gobbled them up in just a few bites!

The cream puffs were a hit at our family reunion! Everyone loved them and another family member also purchased from PUFF CITY because they found this place on Yelp!

If you're looking for something that's not factory made, but made with local fruit and hand filled with love and care, stop by Puff City for your next dessert! The staff is also so friendly that I would surely return again! They were great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gourmet cream puffs in Hilo Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

As good cream puffs as we have ever eaten. Made with fresh, local ingredients.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoongTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“wow- French master pastry chef in HILO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Popped in for a mid afternoon banana puff and was an instant addict, went back 5 days later for 16 cream puffs. Unbelievably light and delicious with a variety of imaginative fillings ranging from plain cream, mocha, chocolate, chocolate with hot pepper, banana, vanilla custard, liliko'i, guava.... and custom experiments!
Although my family tried only the cream puffs and macaroons, the patisserie also offers custom cakes, scones, muffins, bread- sandwiches and soup.
The delicious offerings often sell out by early afternoon, so call ahead if you want to order something special or quantity, and check for the shops' limited business hours. I wish I had photos to share!! There's something special about a chocolate and whip cream nose with a BIG smile underneath!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria_BCLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puff City also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#