We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a desert place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puff City - CLOSED

Puff City
187 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2907
808-961-6964
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Puff City is a bakery/restaurant in Hilo HI offering the most unique and delicious desserts imaginable, including November's special, Roasted Kabocha (local pumpkin) mousse with a cinnamon/white chocolate ganache and Cranberry mousse dusted with powdered sugar. Of course they have the usual chocolate cream with white chocolate ganache cream puff, and liliko'i cream filling with coconut frosting. They also have sandwiches (they bake their own bread) and will do cakes to order. Every month they do fundraisers for East Hawai'i charities. They're located right in downtown Hilo, with easy parking. I think they're the most wonderful bakery in America and think you should list them.
Restaurant details
Description: Puff City is a bakery/restaurant in Hilo HI offering the most unique and delicious desserts imaginable, including November's special, Roasted Kabocha (local pumpkin) mousse with a cinnamon/white chocolate ganache and Cranberry mousse dusted with powdered sugar. Of course they have the usual chocolate cream with white chocolate ganache cream puff, and liliko'i cream filling with coconut frosting. They also have sandwiches (they bake their own bread) and will do cakes to order. Every month they do fundraisers for East Hawai'i charities. They're located right in downtown Hilo, with easy parking. I think they're the most wonderful bakery in America and think you should list them.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a desert place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have had many of these creative ladies pasteries and they are all wonderful so endulge your tastebuds and find them in Hilo town.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cream Puffs in Hilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I needed to pick up dessert for a family event and asked a local bank where would a good place be to pick up pastries. I was directed to a place called PUFF CITY in Hilo town. It wasn't very hard to find but street parking can be a bit challenging.

Very charming place - nice sign on the outside - just 2 or 3 workers inside, and by 9:30am most of the cream puffs were sold. I asked for the lilikoi (passion fruit) puffs which were all sold out, but persistence paid off and when I said I would buy 24 of them, the kind crew member obliged. We chose a variety of other puff flavors (i.e. lychee and ginger, chocolate, coconut, etc.) and also tried some puff pastries with poha berry (similar to gooseberries) and ohelo berry (the food of the Hawaiian Nene goose found on the slopes of the volcanoes). Those puffs were great and we gobbled them up in just a few bites!

The cream puffs were a hit at our family reunion! Everyone loved them and another family member also purchased from PUFF CITY because they found this place on Yelp!

If you're looking for something that's not factory made, but made with local fruit and hand filled with love and care, stop by Puff City for your next dessert! The staff is also so friendly that I would surely return again! They were great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gourmet cream puffs in Hilo Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

As good cream puffs as we have ever eaten. Made with fresh, local ingredients.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“wow- French master pastry chef in HILO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Popped in for a mid afternoon banana puff and was an instant addict, went back 5 days later for 16 cream puffs. Unbelievably light and delicious with a variety of imaginative fillings ranging from plain cream, mocha, chocolate, chocolate with hot pepper, banana, vanilla custard, liliko'i, guava.... and custom experiments!
Although my family tried only the cream puffs and macaroons, the patisserie also offers custom cakes, scones, muffins, bread- sandwiches and soup.
The delicious offerings often sell out by early afternoon, so call ahead if you want to order something special or quantity, and check for the shops' limited business hours. I wish I had photos to share!! There's something special about a chocolate and whip cream nose with a BIG smile underneath!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Such short opening hours, how do they do business?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Puff City is only open from 10am to 2pm so you have to be quick. After our first visit we were too late after spending too much time doing the volcanos and waterfalls. I wanted to try all the different flavours but only had the passionfruit one (their best seller they say). It was really good but everytime we tried to go back for the coffee or chocolate flavoured ones we were too late. We read about Puff City in theHawaiian Airlines magazine. If you go try the coffee o e and tell me how good it is.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puff City also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puff City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.