We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of Lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahiu Hawaii Guided Lava Tours

Ahiu Hawaii Guided Lava Tours
291 Wainaku St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
+1 808-769-9453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 Outdoor Activities in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come & see lava up close & personal with experienced hawaii volcanologist! Aloha! Mahalo for choosing ‘ahiu hawaii for your real lava adventure!! We have two different tour times. One at 9:00am and the other at 4:00pm. The price is $175 per person, which we provide a backpack, snacks, water, headlamps, backup headlamps, gloves and also a stick to walk with but also to interact with the lava! We hope you care about your safety. Cause your safety is our #1 priority! Our tour groups are small which we never book no more than 10people per tour guide for safety and personalism. Plus all of our guides know what's going on about the lava and will safely get you there! The hike distance to the lava changes from day to day.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of Lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Highly recommend this Lava Tour to all. It was the highlight of our trip to Hawaii Islands. Our guides Derek & Larry were fantastic. A truly wonderful experience and once in a lifetime adventure! They supplied food, water, stick for poking the lava flows and lighting on fire, headlights for the night walk back... so amazing and so much fun! Take very good walking shoes (you will get hot soles), light jacket for night-time but it's still very warm, long trousers in case you stumble, the old lava ground is hard and jagged, also a good camera, the photos will be incredible! Met at their office in city of Hilo, Big Island Hawaii, then drove in our own cars to the lava parking area. Anyone visiting Hawaii, this is the tour to do!!! Mahalo & Aloha, Caron.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    16
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hike to Lava Flow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Fantastic, great adventure nothing like seeing the lag up close..
Our guide Joe Nicholas was great, nothing like having a geologist as your guide...
Highly recommend the hike..just make sure you have proper walking shoes and are able to hike 2 miles ecah way threu very rugged uneven surfaces...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Mahalo Ahiu lava tours for taking me on a beautiful, humbling, and fun trip to the lava!

Nothing but smiles on our faces as we were hiking across the coastline. Poking the lava with a stick was a definite highlight, but sitting back and watching the steam rising out of the ocean was an amazing sight as well.

All around good trip when booking with Ahiu lava tours.

Enjoy

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Da Best Experience Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I had booked this lava tour after the boat tour was completely booked. Thank god for that, because this was absolutely amazing!! I have been waiting years to see lava up close and personal and this tour completely exceeded my expectations!! Our guide "Geologist Joe" was awesome! He gave us such great history and scientific explanation of everything lava and volcano. He made us feel comfortable once we got close to the lava, which made poking it an enjoyable experience. This is by far the coolest and most beautiful tour/adventure I've ever done! Huge mahalo's for this well thought out and professional tour!! I will definitely be back and telling everyone I know about this company!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
“The Ahiu Lava Flow Tour was Epic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Ahiu Lava tour was Epic! Remarkable experience! Tour guides are Geology graduates from University of Hawaii Hilo. The tour guides were very knowledgeable on lava fields, and where to expect the lava to be flowing. The tour started on the older section of the lava field and traversed right across the lava. Tour guides made sure the tour group was safe and stopped several times to answer questions. Tour was timed to arrive at the lava ocean entry at sunset which made for a very dramatic scene. Hot lava flowing into the ocean was spectacular. On the trip back we were able to stop near a lava flow and actually dip a long stick into the hot lava. The tour was amazing. I highly recommend this tour company, very organized. Tour Guide, Derek, was outstanding!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahiu Hawaii Guided Lava Tours also viewed

 
 

Been to Ahiu Hawaii Guided Lava Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahiu Hawaii Guided Lava Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.