We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Hilo Thai/American Restaurant...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon and Turtle

Moon and Turtle
51 Kalakaua Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
+1 808-961-0599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 191 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An international menu with a pacific emphasis and a strong focus on fresh and raw fish
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
167 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Hidden Hilo Thai/American Restaurant...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lunch April 10, 2013, party of 2

Downtown Hilo is filled with small owner/operated retail shops and restaurants. Full Moon Cafe is one of those hidden Hilo gems that its a little hard to find, but well worth it...

Bordered between Kamehameha Ave and Keawe St., right behind the Hollywood Theaters or the old Kress Building, Full Moon is a quaint modernized restaurant, tastefully decorated (Asian Theme) in an old Hilo storefront. There is a bar on premise with four stools that serves draft beer on tap.

The menu is a mix of Thai and American food, with heavy emphasis on the Thai. Thai dishes are served family style. My wife had the Steamed Opakapaka with Vegetables and I had the Papaya Salad with Chicken. Both dishes were tasty with a bountiful of assorted veggies.

The Papaya Salad and Thai Iced Tea are my recommendations....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, small, family run cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited the cafe on a Sunday afternoon after wandering around the botanical gardens. It was slim pickings for eating establishments given the day. We stumbled across the cafe, what a nice surprise! There only seemed to be the one waitress and the chef but they run the cafe very well between them. My boyfriend had pineapple fried rice with chicken - delicious! I had a chicken wrap with fries. The menu is half Thai and half American - I would advise that if you are not a fan of really spicy food, to opt for the 'mild' option when ordering Thai dishes. The place itself looks a little bohemian and could do with a lick of paint but don't let this put you off, the food is delicious and we may be returning on our next trip to Hilo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty and off the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice and quiet during Merrie Monarch.
A little off the main drag...and great tasting food.

Our party of five all enjoyed their food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There are quite a few Thai restaurants in Hilo but this is one of the best. The food is consistently good and made with fresh ingredients.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Hidden Jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am a picky eater and hard to please but this Restaurant was absolutely Wonderful.My family and I were visiting the Island and decided to try something different on vacation.Food Phenomenal, Service Great and lovely atmosphere,Very Authentic. Located on side street but well worth the time to find it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon and Turtle also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moon and Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon and Turtle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.