We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, small, family run cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Full Moon Cafe

Full Moon Cafe
51 Kalakaua St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2805
+1 808-961-0599
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 211 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: An international menu with a pacific emphasis and a strong focus on fresh and raw fish.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, small, family run cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited the cafe on a Sunday afternoon after wandering around the botanical gardens. It was slim pickings for eating establishments given the day. We stumbled across the cafe, what a nice surprise! There only seemed to be the one waitress and the chef but they run the cafe very well between them. My boyfriend had pineapple fried rice with chicken - delicious! I had a chicken wrap with fries. The menu is half Thai and half American - I would advise that if you are not a fan of really spicy food, to opt for the 'mild' option when ordering Thai dishes. The place itself looks a little bohemian and could do with a lick of paint but don't let this put you off, the food is delicious and we may be returning on our next trip to Hilo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tasty and off the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice and quiet during Merrie Monarch.
A little off the main drag...and great tasting food.

Our party of five all enjoyed their food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There are quite a few Thai restaurants in Hilo but this is one of the best. The food is consistently good and made with fresh ingredients.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Hidden Jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am a picky eater and hard to please but this Restaurant was absolutely Wonderful.My family and I were visiting the Island and decided to try something different on vacation.Food Phenomenal, Service Great and lovely atmosphere,Very Authentic. Located on side street but well worth the time to find it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of Hilo's best Thai food restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This town is littered with Thai places. This is one of the better choices because the food is consistently good and the staff is always friendly and attentive. Service can be a bit slow down during busy times, but it's nice to see a bustling place after such hard times. Fresh ingredients. Good selection of local beers and cocktails.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full Moon Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Full Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full Moon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.