We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty & spicy Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon and Turtle

Moon and Turtle
51 Kalakaua Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
+1 808-961-0599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 191 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An international menu with a pacific emphasis and a strong focus on fresh and raw fish
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
219 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tasty & spicy Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our family had dinner here after visiting the various waterfalls. The staff were very friendly, but I think there may have been a miscommunication at some point since our salad came out so spicy that I could barely eat it ... this after having gone to Thailand. I was a bit afraid to try my dinner, but it was fine. I think it was good, but my taste buds were a bit numb ... Just be careful when you order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful predominantly Thai influenced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Small, charming, delicious, reasonable
and they serve breakfast too !!!
Light music some nights @ dinner, always very good and does not interfere w/ table talk
I try to dine there 1 time per week when on the big island
Eggplant spicy is stellar !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Asian Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Awesome food, service and beautiful wood interior. Great resturante to park and take a stroll through Hilo, Hawaii and stop for dinner. If you like curry you wont be dissappointed. O yea theres a nice bar too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“The best Thai food in Hilo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have tried several Thai restaurants in Hilo an none of them compare to Full Moon Cafe! The food is always fresh and they use a lot of local ingredients! My favorite is the green curry and the coconut soup! The atmosphere is very pleasant and the service is great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Opakapaka in black bean sauce, wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a wonderful restaurant, from the décor to the service to the food, everything is just impeccable! Even its location is perfect: right in the heart of historic Hilo downtown, near the Palace Theater, movie, museum, and bayfront shopping. We like the clean contemporary look of the restaurant, along with the warm lighting and lush green tropical plants everywhere. My partner and I have eaten here several times. The food is always fresh, healthy (no MSG!) and skillfully prepared. Our all-time favorite is the steamed Hawaiian snapper opakapaka in black bean sauce ($14.95). The fish is very mild, succulent and goes well with the spicy black bean sauce, ginger and green onion. Steamed red bell pepper, broccoli, cauliflower, and kabocha squash complete this absolutely delicious dish! We usually pair this dish with brown rice. Another favorite is the Chicken Rama ($10.95) with tender pieces of chicken in tangy peanut curry sauce, served over crunchy Thai water spinach. We highly recommend this little gem of a restaurant to everyone!
Tips: Must try the Thai Iced Tea ($2) but ask for coconut milk instead of the half & half dairy. And don’t forget to try the homemade chocolate ice cream topped with warm vanilla tapioca and fresh strawberry ($6). You might experience a “food orgasm” with this fantastic dessert!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon and Turtle also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moon and Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon and Turtle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.