We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bike Volcano

Bike Volcano
71 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
+1 808-934-9199
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #21 of 47 activities in Hilo
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bike Volcano provides guided bicycle tours of Kilauea Volcano, one of the world's most active volcanoes. Join Bike Volcano on an amazing guided bicycle tour of the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park or Kilauea Volcano's Active Lava Flow on the Big Island of Hawaii. Bike Down an Active Volcano!!!We have three incredible guided bicycle tours of Kilauea Volcano: 1) Full Day Bike Adventure of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (10am-3pm, 15 miles); 2) Bike Volcano Summit Tour Special (10am-12pm or 12pm-3pm, 8.5miles; 3) Bike to Pele - An Active Lava Flow Bike Adventure (volcano dependent). We will provide you with all the equipment necessary, lunch or dinner, snacks, beverages, a Professional Guide, and van support. Children are welcome.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great way to see the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had only one day to spend in the park, and this bike tour was a nice way to be outdoors yet still see many of the sights. The guide was nice and knowledgeable; most of the riding was on flat paved roads. I saw the reviews where folks had their tours cancelled due to not enough participants, but luckily that did not happen to us.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    12
    4
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Super great bike trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family had a blast on this tour. The guides were very well spoken and very friendly. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!


Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best way to see the volcano national park, absolutely stunning!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I am so glad i decided to do this tour. The service was outstanding, our guide had fantastic knowledge of the history, volcano facts, wildlife and plants. The bike riding itself is spaced out nicely with lots of stops at different locations and mostly all down hill with only a couple of short uphills. While riding we were followed by a support vehicle so we always had water and they gave us lots of snacks. After the ride is over we were taken down to the coast for a really nice lunch (supplied) and a drive along the coast to look at different sites. Overall it was a fantastic mix of bike riding and sight seeing

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
“Great experience with great tour guides!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I were supposed to bike the national park but thanks to our government being shut down it was closed so we ended up doing the Bike To Pele tour which was great. Our tour guide Jim and Pretty were two of the friendliest people we have ever met. Jim knows everything and then some about the area. Be sure to bring a camera because we had many opportunities to take great pictures of the beautiful scenery. The biking itself is not too difficult, it's a great workout but if for some reason you need a break or don't want to bike anymore Pretty is right behind the group with the van to jump in if needed. Another plus was lunch was really delicious. Definitely worth it so book today!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“best of a situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were booked for the bike tour during the time of the shut down and we could not bike the volcano due to park closure. we did the alternative tour, our guide Jim and Pretty were awesome, Jim was so knowledgeable and friendly. I found the tour to be great but very hot, the bikes were great to ride and the scenery was fabulous! We really enjoyed our day especially the walk into the black beach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike Volcano also viewed

 

Been to Bike Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bike Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bike Volcano to your Saves list