We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish n chip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponds

Ponds
135 Kalanianaole Avenue, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-934-7663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hilo , HI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Fish n chip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have enjoyed many dinners here and the setting next to the water is great but what I really like is there fish n chip for lunch. I tried the wraps too but I always find myself going back to my old favorites. great staff too and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    91
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stoped at Ponds while in Hilo on accident. We went n and ate lunch. It was a great lunch and the staff was more than friendly. We had our 3 year old and the waiter gave him ome food to feed to the fish and ducks. he loved it. I would reccomend this place to anyone looking for good food at a reasonable price. the lunch we had was great and there were no complaints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I were in Hilo recently around lunch time and checked out Trip Advisor for some guidance. Ponds looked like a worthy candidate and it turned out to be a very good lunch spot. Fish & Chips often leave me flat, but The Mahi Fish & Chips at Ponds were tremendous - a nice crisp outside and succulent on the inside. I was so engrossed in mine, I don't remember what everyone else had, but they all thought it was a winner too. Not crowded when we got there a little before noon, but filled up fast. Service was a bit on the slow side, but the food more than made up for it. A definite recommend! Ordering a drink special (The Hawaii 5-0) was comical - the waitress didn't know what I was talking about and the bartender came out to the board and wrote down the ingredients. Not surprisingly, it was so so - stick with a traditional drink, beer or whatever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Service was slow. The restaurant was not full yet wait time to order and receive meals was really slow. Steaks was tough but did have good taste. View was good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I had take out one night and dined in the next. Food both times was great. Take out was quick and service was excellent. Dine in service was quick and the food cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend eating here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.