We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponds

Ponds
135 Kalanianaole Avenue, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-934-7663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 198 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I had take out one night and dined in the next. Food both times was great. Take out was quick and service was excellent. Dine in service was quick and the food cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend eating here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great, don't miss spot on Hilo off tje beautiful Banyon Tree Drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wonderful menu, subtle Hawaiian friendliness, in a beautiful setting. We had Ono and Red Snapper specials that were outstanding. Moderate prices add to an overall wonderful experience. This establishment proudly displays a 4 star Trip Advisor sign outside, but it should be a 5.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff, Build over a Pond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped here for a late night meal after flying into Hilo. The food was super tasty, in ample portions, and the staff very friendly. Had a guy singing and playing music in the corner at just the right volume Enough to add ambiance, but not too loud to interfere with conversation. Was little on the pricey side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lars_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food & lovely view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Best food I've had in Hilo! We had prime rib and top sirloin and they were flavorful, tender, and juicy. Garlic smashed potatoes are garlicky which was great. Drinks and service excellent. Servers very attentive, good pace for food (rest of Hilo so slow!), and even greeted by chef. Nice light jazz instrumental live.
Koi pond and ducks and lagoon were lovely backdrop to restaurant.

I travel a lot for work and this is also a nice place if you are here alone or with colleagues for a meal. Casual dress, television in bar to watch games, good drinks & food, great service, and prices decent for area. Steaks around $24 but they have a good range of prices for other meals including fish, pasta, appetizers, and lighter items. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a really great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are in Hilo, this is your place to eat. We searched around town for a while just trying to locate a good seafood restaurant. This was a chance happening as we made a wrong turn that led us into the parking lot of this fantastic place. We decided to go ahead and try it out and we are thankful we did. The lobster is fantastic as well as the mussels and the pumpkin soup I ordered was hijacked by my 8 year old step daughter that cleaned the bowl of the tasty treat. And of course save room for their desserts, they are the best. The outdoorsy feeling with the musician playing in the corner is really enticing. And the atmosphere overall is outstanding even with all the rain in Hilo.This is a must do stop for anyone wanting good food and a few nice drinks out on the town on any night they are open. Oh yes, and ask to meet the chef, he came to our table three times. He is a very nice gentleman and really knows how to care for his patrons.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pneu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponds also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing