We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little Inn a pleasant surprise down town Hilo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pakalana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pakalana Inn
Save
You added Pakalana Inn to your Saves list
132 Punahoa Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cozy little Inn a pleasant surprise down town Hilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Pakalana Inn in Hilo during my last trip to Big Island. The room was clean and cozy. Two minutes walking distance from all the shops and best restaurants. The owner was very helpfull, easy going and friendly. I would definetely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
25
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a great value! We stayed in Room 6 which has a small kitchen and an ocean view. The kitchen was not initially well-stocked but Neil was helpful in getting us what we needed. The room is lovely and very clean, and the bed is super-comfortable! We loved being next door to the Hilo farmer's market. There are a few people selling gorgeous produce every day and the main market is on Wed and Sat. There are lots of restaurants and a natural grocery within walking distance. The only drawback was the street noise but it was not prohibitive. We will definitely return to the Pakalana Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

I found The Pakalana Inn on Vacation Rentals by Owner (VRBO) and it looked intriguing. We traveled to Hawaii with our two teenage sons and spent two nights in Hilo. The Pakalana Inn is newly renovated and we were really pleased with it. Although there are several great things to mention, the most important is the owner, Neil. He was a friendly and personable host, arranging late check in, advising on good places to eat, etc. Our two sons really enjoyed talking with him. We stayed in room 5 (there is an option to rent both 5 and adjoining room 6 which is equipped with a kitchenette which we did not need); it was clean and supplied everything we could need. It did not have a coffeemaker but Starbucks and a local coffee booth are a short walk away. Beds and attached private bath were clean and comfortable. The decor is very earthy and overall the atmosphere is low key and relaxing. There is no a/c but there is a ceiling fan and windows. If you are sensitive to noise this may not be the room for you as it is on the street side, however I had ear plugs which alleviated the problem for me. The farmers market is a short walk away on the next street...it was great, local fruits and baked goods both days we were there. We walked to the local sports pub restaurant for dinner after spending the day at the Volcano upon recommendation from Neil and the food was great - caught the Olympics downhill and had a terrific evening. I would highly recommend and we would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We have been coming to this side of the island for over 20 years and this is the old Hawaiian experience without the mildew.The room was large,comfortable,clean,well located and unpretentious.It was great to have a fridge and kitchen facilities.This is a brand new place inside a cool older building adjacent to the Hilo Farmer's Market.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Pakalana Inn is simple, clean, and is at a great location! We stayed in Room 1 for two nights. There was an A/C, small bar height diner and two barstools, a sink, coffee maker, small refrigerator (complete with complimentary beers!), and a nice size bathroom. Our queen canopy bed was very comfortable. There are street parking along the front of the building. The inn is literally next to the Farmer's Market (Wednesdays and Saturdays) which sells your Hawaiian clothing, handicrafts, fresh flowers, fruits and vegetables, baked goods, drinks (thai tea, coffee, lemonade). However, the food portion of the farmer's market was operating even on the Monday and Tuesday we were there! So if you are looking for cheap eats and a variety of it, walk on over just one street over!

Having driven around Hilo, I realized how convenient Pakalana is. All the other hotels along Banyan Drive are removed from the town center.. You feel like you are on US mainland looking at old, rundown hotels. And unless do don't plan to eat lunch or dinner, I don't recommend you staying at a hotel/inn/B&B further away (by the volcano) since the volcano is a good 30mins drive from town. Pakalana offers a personal, friendly, accommodating, convenient, economical stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pakalana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakalana Inn

Address: 132 Punahoa Street, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Hilo adjacent to the Farmer's Market and Wailoa State Park. Vintage building with upgraded interior, spacious rooms. Air conditioning, kitchenette available. Flat screen TV, internet, coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pakalana Inn Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakalana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.