We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, comfortable room, friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aaron's Cottage to your Saves list
Aaron's Cottage
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great value, comfortable room, friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were being well taken care of. Alan and Penne provided us with some nice extras that we were not expecting. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The common areas were not as clean, but it wasn't disgusting. There was free internet and cable TV, although some of the TV channels did not come in clearly. The location is good. There is a secret beach within walking distance, although you cannot walk to downtown Hilo. The best part is the incredible value. When we booked it, I was nervous b/c it was so cheap. It's hard to believe getting accomodations this nice for such a low price, but it exceeded expectations. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but we went in with low expectations based on fellow TripAdvisor Reviews, so we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night before our flight out of Hawaii. The room is nothing super special, but it works... clean, good value, all the stuff you need like shampoo, hair dryer, TV, A/C, etc. Plus it's $70/night in Hawaii so that's a steal! They provided a kitchen and continental style breakfast. The highlights were the owner, Alan, and the nearby beach. Alan is just the absolute nicest guy and obviously loves getting to know the travelers. We never met his wife I guess because we were only there one night. The morning we were leaving we walked down to the beach and maybe because for once it was sunny in Hilo, but it was just the most beautiful hidden location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This bed and breakfast was near the ocean, beach just a few houses away and less than a mile off the main road. The room was clean, large comfy queen size bed, table and chairs, coffee maker, frig, big bathroom with soft towels. The owners welcomed us as we arrived and explained how breakfast was served and gave us a tour of the property - all the fruit trees , picnic area, waterfall and covered pavilion. There was a kitchen for the guest to use at any time, equipped with pots, pans, dishes, stove, frig, sink, the only thing asked was that you clean up behind yourself. Breakfast was homemade corn muffins, boxes of cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit and eggs in the frig if you wanted to make them. extra coffee and teas also available.
Very comfortable room and the location worked well to get around to any of the sites in Hilo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Room service never provided during 1 wk. stay. Did allow us to get a new set of towels. Kitchen availability saved money but cobwebs in the corners, toaster oven disgusting, and toaster marginal. Outside each room was a table with 2 chairs on a common walkway. Tables were filthy. We used a bath towel each time we ate there. Dogs bark here and next door at all times of day and night. Penne and Alan the owners are nice and provide a nice breakfast or you can cook eggs for yourself provided each morning in the frig, or serve yourself cereal provided with milk in the frig. Big flying black bugs the size of a cockroach prevalent in the room but don't bite or buzz or do anything obnoxious. Carpet in the room badly stained and turned white sox gray. No dresser provided for clothing storage, just 2 nightstands, a bench and a closet with plenty of hangars.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had a great stay at Aaron's Cottage. It was informal and very comfortable which is our style. Alan is very friendly and most helpful. Penne can create the most wonderful breakfast surprises. We liked and appreciated the communal kitchen which could be accessed at all times. There was also a BBQ available for cooking if you caught a fish or went shopping. We will be return. You can walk to the ocean and there are public beaches close by. It is ideal when going to the Big Island to stay a few nights on each side, since there is so much to do. We'll be back that is for sure.
Abbotsford, BC

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Aloha spirit and Ohana feeling are the prime draws to Aarons Cottage. The owners live it everyday. The new blinds are a welcome addition to this location. I stay here everytime we visit the Big Island.

Penne and Alan (the owners) are wonderful people. Give them a try - it isn't the Hilton or the Ritz, but you won't be sorry you came.

Thank You Alan and Penne for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

More like a hotel room, with AC (not necessary when we were there) and TV. Shared kitchen with a different fruit and baked item or fried rice each morning, plus eggs, cereal, and milk. Convenient location to Hilo with easy access to outlying attractions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Address: 54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.