We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our special spot in Hilo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Save Saved
You added Aaron's Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aaron's Cottage
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Jamul, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our special spot in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is where we stay we we need to be in Hilo, near the beaches and lagoons this area is known for. The owners treat you like famiy and the price is right. It's not real fancy, but all we need for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at this b&b on the 1st night of our stay and the last night. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. Our hosts were great. They gave us a tour of the yard and all the delights therein! From here we went on our great adventure touring the island in camper vans and staying once again at the conclusion of our vacation. By the time we returned we felt as though our host were also our friends. Breakfast was delicous (macadmia nut scones!mmmm!) On our return we were greeted by Penne and a bottle of red wine. We will definately stay here again should we return to this amazing island!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights here. Really close to the airport and a short walk to a few beaches nearby (though I wouldn't recommend these beaches compared to those on the Kona coast). The owner is really friendly and breakfast is great. And the price is extremely affordable as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at Aarons cottage in oct 2012, for 1 night only.

The room is fine just very tired and didnt feel very clean.

All that said the price was extremely cheap for hilo and close to hilo airport and food joints nearby.

I didnt eat breakfast but there looked alot of choice.

If you are on a budget stay here, If you have extra cash stay elsewhere......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recommend Aaron's for a pleasant lodging at a very reasonable price in Hilo. One block from beautiful beaches at Puhi Bay. Not far from the airport. Clean, well-furnished rooms. Walk to Arnott's for vending machines. Parking in the two-car carport is first-come-first-served, otherwise, park on the lawn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aulnay-sous-Bois, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The cottage is well located in a quiet neighborhood.
The room is very spacious and practical, comfortable. One small problem, the TV sound is very loud even at minimum, which makes other rooms noisy.
The common kitchen is very practice, full breakfast and very pleasant to take outside.
All for a very low price: perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For us, there is no place like home, and when we find a place where we can feel it, it is definitely 5 stars. Aaron’s Cottage is really simple, but we could get the “Aloha spirit” in our enjoyable stay!
Staff: Alan was so friendly in everything we needed. Presented us the place like a person that open the own door’s house. He gave us a lot of tips about Hilo, the beaches, the roads... Helped me with the washing machine and helped my husband even to find the hand brake of the old car we rented! Ah, and his dogs are so sweet! I wish this blessed couple can make this place exactly like this forever, thanks for everything!
Breakfast: We stayed 5 nights, and then we decided to return for one more night after we arrived from Kona. The B&B has a shared kitchen, and Alan serves breakfast there in a “buffet style”. Each morning they prepared something different and let in the kitchen for the guests! Pancakes, cupcakes, muffins, croissants, everything homemade! And they always serve fresh fruits, yogurt, milk, and eggs from the chickens they have. Everything that is in the kitchen is for common use, so we could cook every day during our stay (there were bread, rice, oil, salt, pepper that were left from other guests). The kitchen is really complete.
Location: At the end of the street there is a beach, but it is rocky. We had a rented car, so everything was near for us. 5 min drive to Richardson Beach Park, and a little bit more than 5 min to arrive downtown Hilo. It is really close to the airport, but we didn’t have problems with noise (maybe because we can hear just the sea and the rain at night).
Room: it is not big, old-fashioned, but really clean. Comfortable bed, TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, table… Shampoo, conditioner, and extra towels in the bathroom. Wi-fi speed is really great, we could call home (Brazil) using internet. I just missed drawers to put my clothes, there is just a small closet with hangers.
Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 8 and 9. Unit 9 is a bit bigger, but it is in front of the kitchen's window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Address: 54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.