We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Save Saved
You added Aaron's Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aaron's Cottage
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Aulnay-sous-Bois, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The cottage is well located in a quiet neighborhood.
The room is very spacious and practical, comfortable. One small problem, the TV sound is very loud even at minimum, which makes other rooms noisy.
The common kitchen is very practice, full breakfast and very pleasant to take outside.
All for a very low price: perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For us, there is no place like home, and when we find a place where we can feel it, it is definitely 5 stars. Aaron’s Cottage is really simple, but we could get the “Aloha spirit” in our enjoyable stay!
Staff: Alan was so friendly in everything we needed. Presented us the place like a person that open the own door’s house. He gave us a lot of tips about Hilo, the beaches, the roads... Helped me with the washing machine and helped my husband even to find the hand brake of the old car we rented! Ah, and his dogs are so sweet! I wish this blessed couple can make this place exactly like this forever, thanks for everything!
Breakfast: We stayed 5 nights, and then we decided to return for one more night after we arrived from Kona. The B&B has a shared kitchen, and Alan serves breakfast there in a “buffet style”. Each morning they prepared something different and let in the kitchen for the guests! Pancakes, cupcakes, muffins, croissants, everything homemade! And they always serve fresh fruits, yogurt, milk, and eggs from the chickens they have. Everything that is in the kitchen is for common use, so we could cook every day during our stay (there were bread, rice, oil, salt, pepper that were left from other guests). The kitchen is really complete.
Location: At the end of the street there is a beach, but it is rocky. We had a rented car, so everything was near for us. 5 min drive to Richardson Beach Park, and a little bit more than 5 min to arrive downtown Hilo. It is really close to the airport, but we didn’t have problems with noise (maybe because we can hear just the sea and the rain at night).
Room: it is not big, old-fashioned, but really clean. Comfortable bed, TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, table… Shampoo, conditioner, and extra towels in the bathroom. Wi-fi speed is really great, we could call home (Brazil) using internet. I just missed drawers to put my clothes, there is just a small closet with hangers.
Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 8 and 9. Unit 9 is a bit bigger, but it is in front of the kitchen's window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When I book a room the most important thing I look for is the bed - this bed looked very old. My husband slept in it and said it slept fine. I did not. The photo (could only find one) was misleading - yes I can see "some" of our room in it, but it must have been taken some time back when everything was new. We did not get the meet the owners as we stayed one day and left early. There was little privacy as the blinds did not shut completely. You can see where attempts are made to have a nice place and with a little more concentration on bathroom floors and bedding might be a good place to stay. I think it just depends on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Definitely a budgetted type motel.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

what a wonderful place to stay! pretty much right around the corner from the airport, clean room with comfy bed and crisp linens, and you get fresh island eggs for breakfast? sold! there's also a little convenience store not far that sells home made icecream, just ask Alan! Penne got in touch with me prior to our arrival asking of any dietary requests, i wanted bacon with my eggs, and guess what, i got bacon! my only regret is that we didn't stay longer, which will be fixed next time we're on the Big Island. could not have thought of a better "welcome to Hawaii!" than we got at Aaron's Cottage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids. There are three private living areas that open up to the backyard. Room was clean. Not plush, but nice.

There were several beach/swim areas within a ten minute walk. Two were great for taking our two year old.

There is a shared kitchen with a come and go breakfast cooked fresh every morning. If you want breakfast in bed, this is probably not the place. We cooked one meal one evening and really enjoyed it.

Alan and Penne were very friendly and helpful. Nice backyard and free parking!

Will stay again if we make it back.

Room Tip: Book early and stay a few nights. Book direct through their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I needed a budget place to stay for one night that wasn't too far from the airport and Aaron's Cottage was just the place! For the price (in Hawaii) it was a good value. For $70 I had a private room, comfy bed, refrig, micro, internet, my own bathroom, free parking, and breakfast!

It's not fancy; but then again, you get what you pay for and thankfully they keep it affordable. It was about a $20 cab ride from the airport, the cab driver couldn't find it, and it's not close to much (except apparently a fantastic beach that I didn't make it to.) If you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs as my room was right on the corner, so I heard anyone pull up and walking to their room, however, overall it was thankfully very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful.

I would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this great B&B the owners Alan and Penne are a great hosts. We arrived before check in time after very long flight from Australia and Alan and Penne were very kind to let us check in early. The rooms were very clean and comfortable the breakfast wraps were delicious. Alan and Penne were so helpful with information on what to do on the island they are very knowledgeable and will go out of there way to help with anything you may want or need to know. We would recommend this B&B if you are looking for a great budget place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii
Address: 54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.