We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed and breakfast with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aaron's Cottage to your Saves list
Aaron's Cottage
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
ca.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bed and breakfast with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great place to stay. Love the home-made coconut muffins and fruit grown on the property in the morning. Tiki Lamps were a nice addition. Owners were very nice. I'm a diabetic and they brought in sugar free syrup for the pancakes they made. Nice local beach. We are going back in 2 years and staying longer! :-)

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
54
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! Just off the main road, but quiet. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lovely gardens. Welcoming host. Just wish I'd been staying longer but was a one-night stopover before flying out - missed out on breakfast as I had to leave early. Would recommend to singles/couples as excellent value. If I ever get the chance to visit Hawaii again I'll DEFINITELY stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel at $70.00/night (inclusive of taxes) is truly one good buy. The room was clean though pretty basic. It also had a coffeemaker with coffee, sugar and creamer. The host Alan was very nice, welcomed us and showed us where everything was. The bathroom was clean and complete with face towels (some hotels don't give them anymore). The "continental" breakfast had had fruit, friendship bread, cereals and milk, cheese and muffins. There were also some home grown eggs which one could cook. We would have extended our stay; we originally booked for one night only but the cottage was already fully booked for the rest of the week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have been here 3 weeks today. We leave tomorrow. If you are looking for paradise this is it! The room is comfotable, quiet, clean, and very accomadating. The owners Penne and Alan are exceptional! Max and Missy are dalmations and will help you feel at home. Charlie is the most adorable 130#baby you will ever meet. He plays with coconuts because he tears up toys in 2 minutes.....They all have helped me be away from my 7# poodle at home. They will capture your heart. The area is very beautiful and the suggested drives are will worth it. We even found some drives the owners didnot know about. You will be treated with a wonderful breakfast everyday, and with the warm loving friendship of Penne and Alan. There are only 3 units so they do not stay empty long. MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS NOW!
You will never regret the warmth, love, and time spent here with Max, Missy, and Charlie.

Room Tip: Don't wait book now. Air conditioning not needed. Kitchen if you want to fix your own meal. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The place was clean and better than expected as I have never stayed in a b &b. The owners were very accomodating and made a special breakfast from the normal as per our request.
The husbands wanting something more heartier and indeed it was. Great value. Thanks again !

Room Tip: No difference-all rooms are exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners who at the same time are unobtrusive. Delicious breakfast left in the kitchen to help yourself too. Room was very comfortable and clean, great for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at this B&B. This small 3 unit cottage was just what we were looking for. Located in a residential neighborhood not far from the airport. The breakfast was wonderful; fresh fruit, homemade pastries and just about anything you might want. Don't come expecting a 5 star hotel; this isn't it. What it is is a great value,small comfortable room and one of the best breakfast we had anywhere. We talked to Alan several times while we were there, he was very nice and helpful. He gave us a lot of ideas of what to see and do.
Our next trip we will definitely stay here again! For a side trip other than the Volcano National Park, try the Hawaiian Tropical Botanical Garden just a few miles north of Hilo. It is beautiful!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Address: 54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.