We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aaron's Cottage to your Saves list
Aaron's Cottage
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The place was clean and better than expected as I have never stayed in a b &b. The owners were very accomodating and made a special breakfast from the normal as per our request.
The husbands wanting something more heartier and indeed it was. Great value. Thanks again !

Room Tip: No difference-all rooms are exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners who at the same time are unobtrusive. Delicious breakfast left in the kitchen to help yourself too. Room was very comfortable and clean, great for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at this B&B. This small 3 unit cottage was just what we were looking for. Located in a residential neighborhood not far from the airport. The breakfast was wonderful; fresh fruit, homemade pastries and just about anything you might want. Don't come expecting a 5 star hotel; this isn't it. What it is is a great value,small comfortable room and one of the best breakfast we had anywhere. We talked to Alan several times while we were there, he was very nice and helpful. He gave us a lot of ideas of what to see and do.
Our next trip we will definitely stay here again! For a side trip other than the Volcano National Park, try the Hawaiian Tropical Botanical Garden just a few miles north of Hilo. It is beautiful!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

A family run B&B with large well appointed rooms. Each room has a large private bathroom, Microwave, Fridge and cable TV. A large community kitchen well stocked for guests. Our host laid out a banquet for breakfast home made breads, a huge fruitbowl, eggs, yogurt, you name it. A quiet neighborhood near the water. Lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

If you want a cheap place, which is a bit tired in its upkeep, with an ok breakfast, and are traveling with a dog (they allow them) it will work for you. Just don't expect a resort or a high quality B&B (have friends who run one on Maui).

It is an interesting trio of rooms. Easily found in a very quiet neighborhood past the harbor. Dog issue noted in the other posting was resolved when I was there. Very hospitable owners but definitely too lazy to care for the property in a deep cleaning manner. Perhaps it has such a busy and consistent turnover to not allow cleaning more than surface issues.

Before I turned out the lights, I noticed all the tops of the drapes were cobwebby and full of dust. Outside, under the lights, the walls were full of cobwebs which had been in place for months. The gecko guano hadn't been brushed off for a while either.

The bathroom had small black splotches on the ceiling (moldy shampoo?) and the back of the door had not been dusted/wiped down in months. The toilet paper holder had been yanked out of the wall in two places and the plaster had not been repaired. TP was now on a free standing rack.

TV stations lacked greatly in selection. Wifi was secure.

Don't reserve #9 as it is directly across from the shared kitchen if you like privacy. Also, if you need to sleep in, and the other guests are clueless that you're in there, you'll be up with their noise. The other end of the three rentals - #7 - is near the shared driveway, which has exactly one "first come first served" slot. Other renters have to park on the grass in front of the units. The middle unit - no clue if there's enough breezes to keep it cool.

Breakfast offering was different each day. Does not offer much in the way of protein, unless you cook your own eggs. Which is certainly easy enough to do. One caveat, rinse off the plates before you use them, as I witnessed a visitor from out of the country wash the dish but didn't rinse off the soap. She put it in the drain rack. I rinsed it off after she left.

Even with the price being so inexpensive, I don't think I'll come back when I island-hop. Didn't take any photos because I didn't want to remember what it looked like.

Only recommending as a 'last resort option' to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were being well taken care of. Alan and Penne provided us with some nice extras that we were not expecting. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The common areas were not as clean, but it wasn't disgusting. There was free internet and cable TV, although some of the TV channels did not come in clearly. The location is good. There is a secret beach within walking distance, although you cannot walk to downtown Hilo. The best part is the incredible value. When we booked it, I was nervous b/c it was so cheap. It's hard to believe getting accomodations this nice for such a low price, but it exceeded expectations. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but we went in with low expectations based on fellow TripAdvisor Reviews, so we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night before our flight out of Hawaii. The room is nothing super special, but it works... clean, good value, all the stuff you need like shampoo, hair dryer, TV, A/C, etc. Plus it's $70/night in Hawaii so that's a steal! They provided a kitchen and continental style breakfast. The highlights were the owner, Alan, and the nearby beach. Alan is just the absolute nicest guy and obviously loves getting to know the travelers. We never met his wife I guess because we were only there one night. The morning we were leaving we walked down to the beach and maybe because for once it was sunny in Hilo, but it was just the most beautiful hidden location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Address: 54 Keokea Loop Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.