We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Company

Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Company
1 Macadamia Road, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808-982-6562; 800-832-9993
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$375*
and up
Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from...
Ranked #38 of 59 Activities in Hilo
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Collinsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We bought some things at the factory and then realized the same thing was cheaper at the ABC store. Not much to see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    97
    44
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canby, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I love this place. It's free and you drive through the macadamia orchards to get there. They have a self guided tour that gives you information about growing and processing the nuts. They also have one of my favorite gift shops, free samples of nuts, an ice cream shop , and a little garden out back where you can see pineapples and other hawaiian fruits growing. We even saw a mongoose running around. I have been here more than once and enjoy it every time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tasty Nuts, So-So Attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The best part of this attraction are the free samples. Yummy! Of course the downside is you end up wanting to buy too much because it's so good. Also, if you end up competing with a tour bus in the gift shop it can become pretty crazy.

Factory tour? Only moderately interesting, without much to see except peering down on the factory through windows. When we were there (mid-week) only about half of the factory seemed to be functioning.

Bottom line: this is a "tour" that is really an opportunity to sell you macadamia nut products (that taste great).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You can skip this...even if you're in LOVE w/ Mac Nuts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

As you get out of the car in the parking lot you'll smell Macadamia nuts cookies baking or some kind of Mac treat (no samples sorry!) and they weren't even selling the cookies in that lil' shop?!?! Everyone was staring at the 2 ladies baking. What were they baking? Why does it smell SO good?!?! Is it for sale?

I love the TV show "How it's made" so of course I had to stop by and see what it's all about...it was disappointing, climb up the stairs and you're viewing from atop in the hot humid weather, the pre-recorded info (tv screen) is available in 4 languages. The windows were blurry and hard to see but in the end I saw a machine spitting out tiny packages of Mac nuts (big wow?). From 1 end to the other it's about 20-feet...that's your tour. Not worth it. My boyfriend (In love w/ Mac Nuts) was mad at me because I suggested this stop...haha.

Inside the shop they do hand out tiny little samples, the prices are about the same or higher than target/walmart and other similar retail stores. At most you might be saving a quarter!! Outside the shop there's a little ice cream corner (nothing special), chocolate, vanilla and coconut flavors. And during my visit they were making renovation inside the store and the restrooms were closed!

Bottom line if you're in the area, I might suggest to go across the street (less than 1/2 mile) to the Rain Forest Zoo (it's also FREE).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
“Not worth the time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Company was one of the biggest dissapointments on our trip to Hawaii. The self guided factory tour involved climbing some stairs to a raised walkway where you could look through windows and see a very small section of the work area. There were TV mo nitors with short videos about the production process. It was not very enlightening or enjoyable. The retail store was clean and the people were helpful but it is NOT a bargain. We bought several gift packs of nuts for the folks at home only to find exactly the same gift packs the next day at the Kona COSTCO for $3.00 less each (about 15%). They offer to ship the nuts home for you to save room in luggage or extra luggage fees. When we got home we found that three out of four of the bags of nuts had burst open and the nuts were all over everything else inside the box.
The only reasons to travel out to this place are if you have a special macadamia nut coating you can't find at home or you can't think of anything else to do. Check prices at home before you leave as a reference. We also found nuts from other packagers for less at other attractions in the islands.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Company also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.