We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Magic Pan

Le Magic Pan
64 Keawe St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2459
808-935-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 206 Restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I can't believe we hadn't tried this place earlier. For lunch, my daughter and I shared a Greek Crepe for just $10 and it was delicious and filling (and they served it separately in halves for us). They had a nice variety for vegetarians and carnivores alike, and they cater to allergy issues with alternatives. We also shared a decadent chocolate volcano crepe with strawberry sauce, chocolate, banana, ice cream, crème fraîche, whipped cream....oh my goodness (good thing we shared!). The place has a similar classy-comfy vibe to Hilo Bay Cafe. I had no idea! We will definitely be back to try their salads and more crepes. Service was quick and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Crêpes beautifully thin n crisp....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Crêpes beautifully thin n crisp, wrapping delicious savory or sweet fillings lovingly prepared from fresh ingredients.
We arrived 4 mins to closing time totally tired, hungry n kinda dirty from a day trip to the volcanoes national park. As the restaurant was already empty, we were almost certain that they would turn is away... BUT, on the contrary, we were welcomed on with a pleasant smile n served throughout the meal with very friendly service.
We tried the Provençal chicken n the Red Sea (shrimps n salmon), both crepes were excellent in taste n presentation. The half portion was served with a leafy salad, served with a yummy salad dressing on the side n topped with fresh mushrooms, avocado n strawberry. Loved the salad! We rounded up the lovely dinner by sharing the Waimea strawberries crepe, hmmm, it was so good we should have ordered two ;)
I liked the atmosphere: high ceilings, clean lines, soft French music playing in the background. Yes, the fact that the cooking is done in the same room takes away 1 point for the atmosphere, but in my personal opinion, the tempting smells of the yummy food being prepared intensifies the culinary experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The Best Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We landed in Hilo mid-morning and went out looking for brunch on a Sunday morning. We can't say enough about the crepes! Two of us had the special with ham, sausage & bacon. We also tried the Alaska crepe with salmon, artichokes, spinach and olives and the crepes Eggs Benedict. All were superbly delicious. Service was very personal. Be advised that all crepes are made to order (the chef cooks right in the dining room) so it may take some time for your food. Don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unusual Crepes in the Heart of Hilo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Service was slow with only one waitress handling the lunch crowd; lucky we were not in a hurry. The food was tasty with special crepes using Hawaiian ingredients.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crepe Heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped in after church for a quick lunch and were so happy to find such variety and quality. Even our vegan friends at home would have had choices! Half a crepe and a salad $13. Too full to try a dessert crepe, but they sounded yummy too! Surroundings pretty drab, but you'll hardly notice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Magic Pan also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Le Magic Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Magic Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.