We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Magic Pan

Le Magic Pan
64 Keawe St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2459
808-935-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 204 restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice little place in downtown Hilo. We wound up coming in here early one evening before they were officially open for the night and they were kind enough to go ahead and seat us. We wound up being the only ones in there the entire time. I had the beef stroganoff crepe with a side salad and both were tasty and hit the spot. The service was friendly without being to obtrusive, which it easily could have been considering we were their only customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    39
    24
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great if you like crepes and light classical music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Walking by looked quite upscale and we were in jeans and T-shirts but a gust of rain forced us back. My wife was quite pleased with the piano - flute duet playing as she is quite proficient at both, and rarely is given the opportunity to enjoy. The service was attentive with a small eclectic group of customers, from the older couples, local families, Asian students and even what seemed like a high school date. Our crepes came promptly and were well prepared and tasty. My wife enjoyed a salad and half crepe and I went for the full crepe. The music was a treat and the flutist engaged the audience and described the origin and significance of each piece. The wine was good also. Reasonably priced overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Should be #1 on the "not to be missed"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Amazing onion soup and a crepe with shrimp etc to die for!! Proper table service and friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TOO BAD!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only tried this one time, maybe we should try it again but the male server and the chef seem so unhappy, I immediately got bad vibes. The wait is long even when there was no one there. Our salad was bad rusty lettuce. When we complained the male waiter said "Well a salad is a salad". The Crepes were very cheeseieee. Hilo needs good restaurants. Too bad this is not one of them.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crepes are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A cute restaurant which has been open for about a year serves up some great Crepes with all kinds of ingredients included - veggies, salmon, eggs, meat and more. You can even watch the chef create each one from your table. Be patient though- there is only one chef and it can take a little time if there is a rush of people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Magic Pan also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Le Magic Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Magic Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.