We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure in the Rainforest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls to your Saves list
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   100 Kulaniapia Drive, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96721   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Treasure in the Rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We needed a place to stay while visiting Hilo, Hawaii and the Volcano National Park.
There was no place available and then I stumbled upon this B&B and we could not have been happier.
We stayed in Harmony House, in the Jasmine room - king sized bed, private bath, and TV.
Clean, spacious, friendly, inviting and relaxing.
Breakfast was delicious and made to order - fresh fruit, Kona coffee from the local farm next door, macadamia nut waffles, eggs, guava juice and homemade goodies.
Next, we walked the waterfall and bamboo tree trails - so beautiful and peaceful.
We didn't want to leave and even inquired about staying another night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    132
    44
    29
    26
See reviews for
81
402
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

we stayed 2 nites. they made us feel at home, the property is all private, including the falls. great food. very peaceful remote place. easy to find using their directions. it was the highlight of our vacation.it was well worth the money

Room Tip: all the rooms looked nice. i peeked in each one after they were cleaned
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful grounds, beautiful rooms, friendly staff, laid-back and relaxing vibe. Adding to that vibe, they offer free yoga on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and you can set up massages. I never thought I would say this, but the macadamia nut waffles they serve are better than Ken's macademia nut pancakes! I am a huge fan of Ken's but it's true. Having a beautiful waterfall in the background while you are eating breakfast is a bonus. The pool at the bottom of the waterfall is the swimming pool. Truly paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a great find. The views are unparalleled. The rooms were nice with a great Lanai overlooking the waterfall. The breakfast was fabulous. The trail to the waterfall is nicely done and we spent a long time at the pond enjoying the sights and sounds of the water. I would definitely stay there again. Marie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Get there before dark to truly enjoy all the wonders of this inn. As soon as you show up, all your cares melt away. Be sure to trek all the way down to the waterfall pool. It's not hard. Take the bamboo trail too. Len has done a beautiful job with this garden, you can tell it is a labor of love. The rooms are pretty darn perfect. The bed is like you are sleeping on a big puffy soft cloud. It's so mellow here. The breakfast is very good too. I wish we would have stayed another night.

Room Tip: Get there before dark to enjoy the view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is as advertised -- very comfortable, spiritual and relaxing, attractively built and decorated in Asian motif, and with all details attended to. The breakfast was delicious and served graciously in a relaxed and very friendly manner. Guests treated with respect and smiles and helpful information for all. The drive up from town a little long, but enjoyable. The waterfall provides a pleasant "white noise" which is soothing for sleep, and helps drown out the ubiquitous recently-introduced tree frogs that have become a fact of life especially in this part of the island.
Rooms a little small but adequate for our needs.
We have no reservations highly recommending this Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and i were meeting my older son and his girlfriend in Hilo. It was their first trip to the Big Island. What a great to start the vacation! The road is a bit lonely, but trust the signs and you will get there. The setting is beautiful, and they have paths down toward the waterfall and a bamboo garden. In the morning your breakfast is cooked for you by the nicest person. It took us a minute to find the sign that shows who is registered for the night, but if you remember which building you have a room in, your name is on the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
4.6 mi away
Hilo Naniloa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Drive, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Inn offering 10 rooms or a private guest house. Three waterfalls and a botanical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.