We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous get away in beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   100 Kulaniapia Drive, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96721   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous get away in beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My new wife and I went there on our honeymoon and loved it. You are literally next door to one of the most beautiful waterfalls on the entire island. I got great bonus points for how romantic it was. The property has a perfect little hike that goes down to the base of the waterfall (which you can swim in if you sign their waiver) and then it also goes through the owner's bamboo forest collection. So cool! It is also only a 5 minute drive into Hilo for dining at night. The breakfast also was delicious in the morning with a wide selection of eggs, fruit, bread, and also macadamia nut waffles! A real treat!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harmony House and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    111
    42
    25
    24
See reviews for
62
320
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two weeks in Hawaii for our anniversary. As far as where we stayed, we talk most about the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls the most. We loved it. The property is both beautiful and special. The rooms were great, staff and breakfasts were wonderful. and the owners more than friendly. They were also helpful when it came to advise about things to see and do in the Hilo area. Our first experience at a B&B and will definitely try it again. We have recommended the inn to our friends and hope to return ourselves. Pull up a chair, kick back, enjoy the falls. Relax. Perfect place for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was the perfect get away for us. We'd been staying in resorts the prior nights before this trip, and it was just so nice to get away and enjoy the hidden beauty of the island. The bamboo garden was a fun adventure that was capped off by a beautiful waterfall, and there was even a light sprinkle that made it more magnificent.

The hosts were really attentive and great. I'd read some reviews about late breakfast, but they started serving at 8am which was a good time for us, and they did made to order eggs and waffles and had a ton of fresh fruit and unique guava and taro bread.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 3 wonderful days and loved it! The grounds were beautiful and the hosts warm and helpful. The breakfasts were hot and tasty and served by helpful locals who gave us great tips on sights worth seeing. We would absolutely stay again even though it is a little bit out of town. Great place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room overlooking the falls and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We absolutely loved this inn! Staff was terrific, breakfast was great and the grounds were breathtaking! Definitely a romantic place to relax for couples. We stayed in the Maille room 2 nights thinking the waterfall sounds would be fun, but note that it can be very loud. The other night we stayed in the Residence and enjoyed that much better. Inn is a bit of a drive from town but not bad after we got used to it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from waterfall are quieter and you can still sit on deck for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked two nights at this B&B. First, it was very difficult to get to this place. It is completely isolated which has pros and cons. The location is wonderful with a bamboo garden, the falls and the macadamia nut plantationw. However, you are far from restaurants and main activities and driving back at night under the rain was not pleasant. When we arrived, the reception was quite cold by the owners. We had the perception that we were disturbing more than anything else. Even if I confirmed by email that we are a family with 2 teenagers, the room was not ready and the owners throw in 2 inflatable matresses in our room and we had to inflate one of them ourselves. The owners don't seem to be interested by their clients. Not the reception, you can expect at a B&B!
The hidden gem in this place is Leah, the Inn keeper. She is very nice and prepares an excellent breakfast. She provided us with some guidance on what to do and see in the Big Island.

Room Tip: This place is not family friendly. It is more suited to couples looking for a hideaway or a serene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The inn was very personal, with a delicious breakfast each morning (including macadamia nut pancakes). We also took part in a free yoga class and checked out the hot tub. The owner is very personable and loves to help people enjoy the big island. The same goes for jasmine in the Harmony house. She went out of her way to point out things to see and made our stay very comfortable and personal.

The location is great since there is so much to see on the Hilo/Volcano side of the island.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Drive, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96721
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Inn offering 10 rooms or a private guest house. Three waterfalls and a botanical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.