We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls to your Saves list
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   100 Kulaniapia Drive, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96721   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Inn is beautiful. The people running it are friendly but very respectful of your privacy. I would recommend that you make your trek to the Inn for the first time during the daytime when it is light outside. The road is well-marked but narrow and winding. It is in the countryside but within 10 minutes of being in the heart of Hilo. It truly gives you a sense of paradise. Because it's in the rainforest, if you are prone to mosquito bites, you may want to wear repellent. We kept the balcony door open and it attracted several mosquitos. The Hilo side of the island is not touristy like the Kona side of the island. The only downside is that after almost a week, the breakfasts were a little mundane. We have been to other bed and breakfasts that served different items every day but although the fruits and waffles were yummy, there was no variety.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    127
    43
    29
    26
See reviews for
77
390
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed three nights here in the Orchid room with our twin 8 year old girls. It was cozy for the four of us, but worked just fine. Breakfast with Leah was an absoloute highlight as was walking the grounds to explore the bamboo garden and waterfall and walking up the road to see the amazing views of Hilo. Very comfy beds!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent one night at this delightful B&B located a couple of minutes walk from a fabulous waterfall in the middle of huge macadamia nut plantations. This is a terrific place for many reasons: beautiful and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, delicious cooked-to-order breakfast, scenic deck overlooking the waterfalls, and wonderful hiking trails with exotic bamboo plantings leading to even more waterfalls. It is about 4 miles south of Hilo, but feels like more due to the slow, winding road. However, the sense of seclusion and tranquility make the drive worth every minute. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

WOW! What an unexpected surprise our days in the Hilo area were. The Inn at Kulanipia is a hidden gem! The views were spectacular and the staff are amazing. Breakfast was a highlight and Leah was so gracious and a wealth of knowledge. The beds were so inviting and the Harmony House was just that a perfect place to rebalance. Yes, it rained, but we knew that and planned for it so it never stopped us from enjoying the spectacular coast and many wonderful experiences that the coast has to offer. Don't miss this wonderful hideaway or this beautiful area of the Big Island.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Harmony House the rooms have a wonderful view of the waterfall and it is a perfect w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Found this at the last minute on an overnight trip around the island. What a fantastic location with superb and friendly service. Excellent breakfast made to order. Highly recommended; like a trip to nirvana!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

What a magic place. The facilities and the falls are a perfect setting to completely unwind. One of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The custom breakfast was great. Perfect for a nite or two while circumnavigating the big island. Our room had a view looking down on Hilo and the bay. We will stay there whenever we are on the "dark side".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a lovely acommodation and breakfast was excellent. The grounds are beautiful. The bedrooms are clean and moderately sized. The bathrooms are quite small. Although we would like to give this place an better review, our one night stay was marred by the fact that they would not let us dry our wet clothes in the dryer. We offered to pay but were informed that the owner "Len didn't allow it". This was quite surprising to us as it was very wet when we were there and the Inn is located 20 minutes from town and a laundramat. We ended up wasting time on our last day in Hawaii trying to find a laundramat and dry our clothes. We felt this reflected very poorly on the owner's comittment to customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Drive, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Inn offering 10 rooms or a private guest house. Three waterfalls and a botanical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.