We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely walk, very nice falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akaka Falls State Park

Akaka Falls State Park
End of Akaka Falls Road, Off Hwy 220, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-974-6200
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$166*
and up
Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls...
Ranked #3 of 33 Attractions in Hilo
Type: State Parks, Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely walk, very nice falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Keep in mind this is a "small" attraction. The falls are a lovely, narrow cascade of nearly 500 feet. Viewing is from a fairly small concrete platform (behind a railing) - there is a small entry fee to the park (use the bathroom by the parking lot before you go down.) While you can see the top of the falls from the parking lot, it is a nice little tropical hike to the falls themselves, with stairs. Enjoy the flowers, bamboo, banyan and other lush tropical growth along the way. After the initial descent, the trail is a loop. I suggest heading to the right and seeing (barely) the lesser falls. Helps build up Akaka itself when you get there. Well worth visiting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    509
    121
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Not that great of views and cannot get very close. It is about a 20 minute walk that shows you 3 different waterfalls which are all decent but not great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A very nice hike through the park to the main attraction, Akaka Falls! The vistas are amazing and the waterfall is massive! There are informational boards at the falls overlook that were full of good info. Such as; did you know that there is a little fish that swims UP the huge falls?? Neither did I!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“surprisingly beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We came here on a whim when a nearby site we wanted to visit was closed. We had stayed in Maui earlier in our trip and didn't really need to see another waterfall, so didn't have this on our itinerary, but with time to kill we stopped by regardless.

Very happy we did. It's basically just a short forest trail leading to one waterfall (the other waterfall in the park is barely visible), but it's very beautiful. The trail itself is a great rain forest walk, and the waterfall is very picturesque. The walking path is very short and not particularly steep, and can be done in 30 minutes or less.

$5 for parking is a bit steep - especially since they have an attendant standing at the entrance to shake you down - but you can always park on the roadside just outside the park.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Easy half mile walk. Excellent path. Many falls but Akaka is excellent. Wonderful pictures. Will definately go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaka Falls State Park also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akaka Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akaka Falls State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.