We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlite of Hilo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Helicopter Tours

Safari Helicopter Tours
Heliport, Hilo International Airport, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
808-246-0136
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 47 activities in Hilo
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlite of Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Beautiful and exciting way to view the multiple waterfalls in the area and the magma flows to the ocean. Thanx to Stephanie, Lahapa and Capt Kovi for a very memorable experience. We highly recommend this on your island of Hawaii visit-- this from a well travelled retired couple, having been to all 48 National Parks (ex those in AK) and over 240 NPS sites. Book it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    41
    15
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a trip!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a special trip this.
Researched this trip prior to leaving the U.K. and joining a cruise that included Hilo looking at the various companies and chose this one because of their prompt and effeicient way they dealt with my questions via e-mail. Positive reviews played a big part also in our decision.
We did the trip on the 11th May and a prompt pick up at Hilo cruise port and transfer to the airport.We paid a little extra for the two front seats next to the pilot. Well worth it if they are available.
On the way up to the volcano our pilot Kovi told us we would be in for a treat but nothing prepares you for the view of an active volcano spewing molten lava. Numerous passes over the lava and then down the mountainside following the lava flow to where it enters the sea.
After viewing that from various angles we headed back up to the lava for more passes of the eruption.
On our return to the airport they transferred us back to the ship but offered to drop us downtown if we had wanted to.
Pictures don't do it justice but I can't praise this excrusion highly enough and have no hesitation in reccomending Safari Helicopters for the trip.
Tremendous!!!!!
AuroraUK

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the time and money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although staying in Kona, on the other side of the island, we drove to Hilo to take a helicopter tour of the volcano. There were six passengers and the pilot. We received a very good safety preview and then boarded the helicopter. The pilot took us over macadamia nut farms and the village that had been wiped out by the lava. Just before we took off, clouds came in and were down on the ground. The pilot did not give up, but found a way around the clouds so we could view the lava from the lava tube fall into the ocean with the accompanying clouds of steam. The pilot, Kovi's, explanation of what we were seeing as we traveled over the area was insightful. It was worth the drive and the money.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our first helicopter ride and it was awesome! Blessed with a beautiful and sunny day we had great views of Hilo, the Macadamia Nut fields and the volcano. The volcanic activity from the visible lava to the area where it hits the ocean was incredible and the flight itself was really cool! Our pilot was both personable and knowledgeable and we just flat out had a great time! All aspects of the trip from reservation through check in to the flight itself were top notch. Great job!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had previously flown in Kauai with a different company (Island Helicopters) and thought it was amazing. This flight over Volcanoes National Park was so disappointing. The helicopter itself was old and this curve of the back window created distortion. While I understand that there is no guarantee when trying to see natural phenomenon, we spent most of the time seeing black land (cooled lava) and steam. No red lava in sight! No streams! No lava pouring into the ocean! Nothing like the pictures the helicopter company promotes. Both my son and I thought this was a boring ride. Total waste of money. This is an expensive experience.

Visited Volcanoes National Park and really enjoyed seeing the cooled, black lava up close. I think the park was a better and much cheaper way to experience volcanoes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Helicopter Tours also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Safari Helicopter Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Helicopter Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Safari Helicopter Tours to your Saves list