We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little historic island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Island

Coconut Island
Off-shoot from Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 33 Attractions in Hilo
Type: Beaches, Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Picnicking
Attraction details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely little historic island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found the island on an early morning walk from the hotel. Set in a stunning bay with Mauna Kea in the near distance. Lovely mix of locals and tourists.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    85
    38
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Worth the time. Bring Snokeling gear!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Well we ended up here not really knowing what to expect. The first thing I noticed was this was the spot on Duck Dynasty where Willie Gets goaded into jumping off the monument. Pretty cool huh. Well I did not bring a suite but wished I had. It also looke like a great place to do some snorkeling. I could see from my pearch on the rocks that lots of really great fish were swimming around below. Take a few hours and wander around Coconut Island it is low key and costs nothing to enjoy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Walked to this from the hotel. Was beautiful! Not sure if this is apart of the gardens that were nearby but i suggest it for anyone staying on the windward side.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stroll before breakfast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My Mother and I walked across to the island (from Castle Hilo Hotel) before our breakfast at Kens Pancake House. It was a very pleasant walk and a lovely first view of Hilo as we arrived the previous night after dark. Also walked part of Banyan Drive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiny little island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The island is just off the mainland shore. There is a foot bridge maybe a couple hundred yards long that you use to reach the island. Sunbathing area, restrooms with a few palm trees scattered about. Nothing really to do there, but a nice walk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Island also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coconut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.