We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hilo Bay B&B to your Saves list
Hilo Bay B&B
301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time in this excellent B & B recently. The strongest features were the excellent breakfast with fresh tropical fruit and freshly prepared hot dishes served on an outdoor deck, and our warm and welcoming host who made us feel very welcome. The place has a breezy, plantation-style feel that makes you instantly relaxed. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
82
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is what a B&B should be like: cosy rooms with lots of character (nicely renovated house with many beautiful details such as paintings, textiles and decorative, cute stuff), super friendly service and a breakfast to die for. The owners also own a farm in Puna, where they get most of their fruit, vegetables and eggs served at breakfast. We were served omelette, lots of fresh fruit, bread and croissants, bread pudding, bacon...
Matthew, our host, is very friendly, let us check in early even though our room wasn't even ready from previous guests (so we could leave stuff before going out snorkling) and offered us to use the laundry room.
Loved all the interior details and could move in there any day.
The B&B is close (5 min) to Hilo downtown with nice restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room, which was very nice. Some noise frogs/birds outside, but we managed to fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the lava room for three nights. We have no complaints. Futons were provided our girls. The breakfast was to die for - fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, really yummy yoghurt, hot loaf bread with lots of jam selections. We had Carolena, Laura and Matthew help us out on our stay and all of them were lovely with lots of helpful advice. They also gave our girls food to feed the fish. The location was handy and great to visit Mauna Kea at night. Matthew went out of his way to be friendly including putting our laundry in the dryer when we were out for the day and folding it for us. We felt totally at home here. Thank you Matthew for a wonderful stay. If you are still running the B&B in another 10 years when our girls are old enough to do the Mauna Kea summit we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The house was beautifully restored; nice garden; a few blocks from downtown; a playground nearby; Matthew (the host) was wonderful and made amazing breakfast.

A minor one - we stayed in the Lava room downstairs, the floor board above us was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We only stayed one night but we found Matt to be super welcoming, especially as we booked really last minute.
Breakfast was great with papayas they grew themselves, an amazing coconut bread pudding and tasty coffee. Matt gave us tips on what to do (Hilo Coffee Mill was awesome, thanks!) and even helped us sort out a place to stay in Kona.
Maybe not the most important aspect but the lava rock hand basin and the rain shower were pretty cool too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very cozy and well appointed renovated home on nicely landscaped grounds. It is unique the way they have converted the limited grounds into a tropical garden sanctuary. We were serenaded by chirping and croaking of the permanent resident critters into the night. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We would stay again...... and hope to.

Room Tip: Our room, the Michener Room, had a private lanai and a large bathroom with a unique tub/shower confi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were looking for a B&B in Hilo and came across this one. We were very satisfied with our stay. Danny was a great host and provided lots of great information about the area.

It was located close to the main street in Hilo and we walked into town to have dinner both nights we stayed there.

The accommodations were above satisfactory. The room and linens were clean and there was free wireless internet. The home was a beautiful old plantation house and had a lovely deck. There was a dedicated bathroom attached to the room. The driveway was a little tight but otherwise overall the place was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Hilo.

The host, Danny, prepared a lovely breakfast for us both mornings of our stay, which included eggs, pastries, banana bread, fruits, yogurts, juice, milk and cereal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay B&B

Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilo Bay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay B&B Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Bay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.