We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B so far - "yummy breakfast"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hilo Bay B&B to your Saves list
Hilo Bay B&B
301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wien
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B so far - "yummy breakfast"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

On our honeymoon, this was the best B&B experience: lovely decorated, super-clean room (James Michener), delicious breakfast and especially helpful hosts.

We felt like home away from home and really enjoyed soaking up advice from Matthew who knows the island so well. After a few days stay on Kauai in a resort, we decided to make a road trip on the Big Island and this was our first stay. Hilo Bay Hale has a very good location in Hilo (walkable distance to historic "downtown" and the farmer´s market). We really appreciated the breakfast with Matthews stunning papaya-fruit salad (home-grown!). "Freshly-prepared" breakfast in the 5*-resort on Kauai wasn´t as fresh as at the Hilo Bay B&B.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
87
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just completed our second stay, and it was again a highlight. Hilo Bay Hale just has a great vibe---so welcoming and comfortable. We love everything here: super clean room, warm hardwoods, eating our lunch on the comfy lanai while tossing food to the koi, the kitschy Hawaiiana touches in the decor, artful attention to detail in things like the painted sink bowl and free-standing tub, the rainfall shower head, listening to the soft rain while falling asleep--it's all good. We've been coming to the Big Island for almost 15 years, and spend the balance of our time at the Four Seasons on the Kona side, and as nuts as this sounds, I really believe Hilo Bay Hale achieves a comparable level of warmth and comfort. I'm not talking about king beds and huge suites or trying to compare a B&B to a resort--I mean that at some level the finest properties in the world are eventually trying to create a feeling that this place captures perfectly.

I added a few pics--most of what I have is well-represented by other reviewers. A few other details worth mentioning: tasty serve-youself breakfast buffet with fresh papaya from Matt and Danny's farm! A quick walk down the hill to downtown Hilo. Helpful pre-visit info. A very reasonable price. And finally, it doesn't hurt that Matt is a fellow Kansas Jayhawk--Rock Chalk Aloha!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed a few nights in the Lava Room. It is a very nice private room on the bottom floor with the washer/dryer and hosts quarters. Upstairs there were two other rooms and the kitchen. We always get up early so though the kitchen is above this room, the activity didn't start until around 7 am which wasn't an issue for us. The Lava Room has an outdoor private patio that is a great place to unwind at the end of the day. At one point a large party of adults and children checked in and though there were almost a dozen guests in the house we still felt we had our privacy. The breakfasts are good and the hosts are very gracious, helpful and accomodating. They literally let you use anything you need and they are really laid back so you don't feel like an interloper. My only nitpick with the room would be the bathroom. It has a great shower but the cabinet space is really lacking rendering the room difficult to use for two. Also the way the shower is set-up requires a gap in the door at the bottom of about one foot so you essentially have a public bathroom experience. I wouldn't want to share this with anyone but my husband and even we would have prefered a real full door. Some areas of life should still remain private. But we definitely would stay again. Great place, really beautifully restored.

Room Tip: Lava room fans drown out frogs outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent only one night at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast, but it was a great choice in terms of value for your money. The place is nice, clean, welcoming, next to the Downtown Hilo, and it has everything for a comfortable stay. We got pretty dirty and dusty after the hike to Green Sand Beach, and it was very nice that they had a washer, a dryer, and some detergent that we could use. Matthew was such a wonderful host. It was very easy to communicate with him. He always replied to our e-mails and returned our calls. He fixed us a delicious breakfast, and his breakfast was one of highlights of our trip. It was a perfectly balanced and nicely served. What could be better than to start your day with fresh tropical fruits and yogurt , tasty omelet, yummy bread and good Kona coffee?! If we go back to Big Island again, we would not hesitate to stay at Hilo Bay Hale many a time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thanks Matthew and co for making my stay in Hilo so pleasant. The Hilo Bay B&B really felt like a home away from home. Better really as nobody cooks my breakfast at home. Matthew turns on the best breakfasts I had while visiting the States. Along with the usual fare there is an abundance of fresh fruit, freshly baked breads and cooked offerings. Delicious! I stayed in the James Michener room and loved having my own lanai overlooking the gardens and koi pond.
Feeding the fish was an extra joy. The retro decor was a delight and the bathroom was airy and spacious. The B&B is withing walking distance of Hilo's main centre, but you will need a car to explore further afield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and son and I stayed two nights at the Hilo Bay Hale and it exceeded our expectations. I knew it would be nice, but I had no idea the attention to detail and care we would get from our hosts. The house was absolutely beautiful, completely restored and full of beautiful antiques. That being said, it was still comfortable to have our 7 year old exploring the house property. It really felt like home. Matthew made us delicious breakfasts and really went the extra mile to provide us with whatever we needed for our day trips. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and spacious. We will stay here again and again. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Choose the Lava room if you are traveling with children. Futons are provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

my wife and I stayed two nights and quite enjoyed our stay. we were walk-ins at 8 pm so we surprised the host but he did a fantastic job making us feel welcome. the restored plantation house is beautiful. we stayed in the front room which had a private lanai. couldn't really use it because of the mosquitos but I think this was an issue for all of Hilo not just this particular place. the hosts were warm and welcoming and cooked a fantastic breakfast. a few blocks from downtown so it was a perfect location. one complaint is the house is located on a fairly busy street so you can get street noise. parking is limited (2 spots) but free street parking. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay B&B

Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hilo Bay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay B&B Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Bay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.