We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Bay Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hilo Bay B&B to your Saves list
Hilo Bay B&B
301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great stay in the Bay Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed in the Bay room which was nicely decorated in "Asian" style decor. Our room was always a comfortable temperature, not stuffy, not hot, etc..
This is an old house which has been completely renovated.
Breakfast was the best breakfast of the 3 B&Bs we stayed at in Hawaii. They provided pastries, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, etc...
The only thing about the Bay room is that it does not have a private Lanai (vs. The James Michener room) and you can hear everything going on in the kitchen and the front porch through the walls (old house). Unlike the other reviewer from June 2011, the host is not living in the room next door with dogs (must have moved out by now).
The hosts are very organized and friendly, they will have your key ready for you in an envelope by the door, they have a 1-page information sheet with helpful information about the house, check-out instructions, Wi-Fi access etc... One big PLUS is that they let you use their washer / dryer and detergent. They have another 1-pager with main attractions of Hilo and approximate distances. Thank you!
Great location, walking distance to the main attractions in Hilo, Bayfront, museums, farmers market, etc.. Thank you Matthew for being our gracious host in Hilo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
82
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Hilo Bay Hale for 3 days and I only wish we could have stayed longer. We were in the James Michener room, which is stylishly decorated and includes a lovely private lanai and big luxurious bathtub. Our hosts were fun, interesting and very knowledgeable about the area, hence gave us several tips for lesser known attractions to visit. Breakfasts were ample and delicious, including lovely fresh fruit every day, and overall we had a wonderful time. If you stay at HBH, I highly recommend an evening bath with the windows open so you can relax to the song of the coqui frogs – an amazing experience. The HBH is one of our most favorite places - we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, NY
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were visiting Hilo from the Kohala coast so we stayed just one night, arrived at dusk and like another poster said, we had a bit of a hard time finding it. Once we did, we were left an envelope with a key at the front door with basic instructions. The owner wasn't there to greet us. When we finally made it inside, our room was ok, it was clean and functional but it was SOOOO hot and stuffy. It was a nice evening outside but the room was all closed up prior to our arrival and there was no AC. It would have been nice to have had it at a nice temperature upon on arrival. It was like walking into an oven. We also had an issue with working the shower. I had to text the owner at 9pm to ask about the controls. First time I haven't been able to figure out a shower! We turned it every which way, pulled, pushed and all we got was burning hot water. It was annoying because we were hot and sweaty by this point but we decided to wait until morning to take a shower because we were exhausted after driving most of day. The next morning, it still wasn't 'right' but it wasn't scalding so we just dealt with it. Of course, we didn't sleep well because we couldn't keep the windows wide open due to the extremely loud coqui frogs and we totally forgot our sound machine! So, it was choose very loud frogs or feel hot and stuffy. Bummer. Anyway, the next morning, Matthew was up and about early (we could also hear another guest talking & cackling in the very early morn through the walls) and he prepared a really great breakfast for us as well as yummy banana bread and fresh fruit. He was a VERY gracious and friendly host and my review isn't personal, it's just the circumstances WE had that night. Our friends lucked out with the big Lava room on the bottom of the house...lots of space, cooler, and they had more than one fan. Had we known, we would have stole a fan from them for comfort and also for white 'noise' to drown out those darn frogs. Our friends had no problems..so thats why Im sticking with a very good rating to be fair.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Hilo Bay B&B is a great place to stay while in Hilo. My wife and I started our trip to Hawaii in Hilo and decided to stay one night rather driving in the dark to Volcano. The Hilo Bay B&B worked out perfectly. We had a large room with a very comfortable bed. One of the owners was at the B&B in the morning to prepare breakfast. What a feast. Eggs (cooked in the oven like a quiche), excellent bacon, and enough fruit and breakfast breads to feed and army. Cereal, yogurt, and other breakfast items were also available. We really like this place and if we return to Big Island we will be sure to stay here a few more days. There are some interesting things to see and do in the Hilo area. Guest have access to the kitchen and outdoor grill if they want to prepare their own dinners. However, I would be careful about one thing. If you plan to arrive after dark, make sure you have a good map showing the B&B's location. The street that the B&B is located on is easy to find but the exact location on the street is not easy in the dark. Most of house do not have numbers and the B&B does not have a very big sign out front.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Lava room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hilo Bay B and B a few weeks ago with our 10 month old baby. We had originally reserved the Tsunami room for 2 nights, but loved the place so much we stayed a third (in the Michener room). The hospitality, the warmth in design, the exceptional breakfast, the genuine welcome were all reasons that we can't wait to return. No, it was not the quietest stay I've ever had in a hotel, but it was by far the most enjoyable. Not only was Danny a gem, spending time with the other guests and sharing travel tips was priceless.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I love B+B's, but I do actually like a bit of distance from my host. In this case, one of the hosts was living -- with her dogs and her TV and her guests -- in the room next to ours. The kitchen was wide open, and we had to walk through it to get the patio dining table, so we ended up watching all the cooking and cleaning. It really was like being a guest in someone's home, except that someone is a total stranger. It felt like we were imposing on her personal space.

The rooms themselves were decorated with character, and the bathroom was really very luxurious. The beds are sleep-number beds, so it is hard for them to be uncomfortable. But we also had a chair that was too rickety to sit in and a lamp with no bulbs (which made the room quite dark, actually.)

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our stay was at the Jungle House in Pahoa which is actually run by the same folks that manage the Hilo B&B. We are a family of four with older children of the opposite sex, and the male being tall. Usually, we have to rent 2 hotel rooms. The Jungle House was perfect for us, each child got their own room with a bed for the same price of one hotel room. If you are going to the Volcano, the location is perfect. It is approx halfway between Hilo, and the Volcano. There are many activities , and sights nearby. The restaurants in town were great as well. Danny was helpful with all aspects of our stay. Since it is a farm which supplies food for their Bed and Breakfast, we were supplied with food for breakfast every day. Items such as papayas,pineapples, bananas, fresh eggs, avacado's, english muffins, coffee, milk, and orange juice.The house itself is very charming with 3 bedrooms, 1-1/2 bath, kitchen, living room, and quaint lanai. A washer, and dryer are outside and available for use. I definitely could see myself renting this house, and staying for a month!!! It is tropical paradise!!! Being a plant person, I prefer the Hilo side of the island to the Kona side. The house is surrounded by lush tropical trees, and plants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilo Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay B&B

Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilo Bay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay B&B Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilo Bay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.