We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and a truly fun experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters
honolulu International Airport, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
(808) 961-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #8 of 59 Activities in Hilo
Attraction details
Homer, Alaska
1 review
“Very professional and a truly fun experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We drove from Kona to Hilo because we really wanted to see the lava fields from the air and decided it was worth the drive to get the most bang for our bucks! Everyone we dealt with at Blue Hawaiian was very professional and service oriented and the equipment was well maintained. We each had headsets and we shared microphones for every two people so we could all ask questions. Our pilot, Tim was awesome and very knowledgeable!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    70
    23
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, DE
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Exceptional view of lava flowing into the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After making reservations the day before, we drove from Kona to Hilo Airport. The airport is small, and the Blue Hawaiian Helicopter is conveniently located right in the main terminal. We chose the Circle of Fire plus Waterfalls tour, which is a 45-50 minute flight.

Our pilot, Julie, was extremely pleasant and provided lots of general information about the area, in addition to the volcanic activities. The flight begins with a quick look at a small waterfall, but viewing the lava flowing in several areas and then lava spilling into the ocean is well worth the trip. The pilot made several passes over the lava, so that everyone in the helicopter could get great views.

Overall, each member of the Blue Hawaiian Helicopter team worked together to make this a fun activity, while instilling the need to follow safety guidelines. On our flight, there were seven passengers, plus the pilot. The cost of the flight DVD was $25.00.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awsome and fun!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My mother in law and I had a great time. Our pilot was very knowledgeable and made it great. We got cancelled the first time due to weather but the people tried really hard to fix the problem.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
277 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

we did the circle of fire and water falls tour on Dec 19th and enjoyed it... only regret is that we were not covered by their video as the person in the front seat totally blocked us. otherwise we would have bought the video for an extra $45. however, our pilot Jeremy made the whole ride extremely entertaining, ensuring all of us caught the best views of the smouldering red lava in 3, 4 places in the crater... he addressed us by name and had a very interesting commentary going while manoeuvering the helicopter at all angles... saw a few water falls as well ....totally worth the money... for the 11am ride, reporting was at 10.15, we were there only by 10.30 as we were doing other sights... wished we had arrived early and grabbed the emergency exit seat in the front... but however, the pilot rode the helicopter at all angles and ensured good views for us in the back seat

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“do the whole island its a view you won't forget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Don't go cheap here. This is the island to do the helicopters. The view of the mountains was fantastic. Waterfalls to die for. Lava lava lava. Flowing into the ocean. Erupting at the volcano. Unbelieveable. Pilot was very nice. Remember to wear dark clothes if you want your pictures to come out. Anything light in color will reflect and screw up your pics. Hopefully you get the front two seats. Go on their better helicopter, its worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hawaiian Helicopters also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Blue Hawaiian Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hawaiian Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.