We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes the crown, hands down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
100 Pu'ueo St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Takes the crown, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had an amazing stay at the Wild Ginger. I came down to Hilo with not much of a plan--just looking to explore and find a good place to stay! I walked into the Wild Ginger and ended up staying much longer than I'd expected to...it has a perfect location, you can see the ocean from the hostel, and the people and staff are so friendly. I loved exploring Hawai'i with the Ginger as my home base. The free breakfast in the morning is delicious--I would always have a fresh papaya and maybe some homemade banana bread :) I took up surfing while I was there--there are both surfboards and bikes that are available at the hostel for rent! (very affordable, circa $10 for the day) The owner, Al, and his family are great people, and the fun-loving staff will welcome you well. I hope you go experience a true Hawaiian hostel and authentic place for your time in Hilo. It is the best in town!

Room Tip: I stayed in the female dorm and was very impressed with it. Very spacious, nice bathroom with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Its was nice having you here. Thank you for kind words. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
23
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

So if you read my reviews - I usualy am in 5 star SPG hotels and I am pretty hard to please. In any case I was looking for a place in Hilo on our annual trip to Hawaii and there are not many choices regardless of budget. I picked this hotel knowing the rating. This is a great hotel and if in Hilo I recommend you stay here.

So the coqui are loud but same anywhere on this side of the island, The hotel needs a dab of paint here and there.....the place has not been updated in awhile but maintained... very clean, sheets clean, towels clean, floor clean....really exactly what you would have found in Hilo in 1968...a small Hawaiian villlage hotel. Everyone very cool and the owner is really cool.

So I loved this place because remember all experiences are not packaged by hotel companies.... However, when booking remember no AC and no mod design....just hawaiian charm and Aloha....and a clean bed to sleep in for 50 bucks.....awesome..... and a close walk to town.... If you are staying longer the outside areas were cool - nice garden, outdoor kitchen, outdoor workout place with free weights that all have a view of hilo bay..... this place is one of a kind and I suspect you will not find another exactly like anywhere. Again, add this place to your list for the Hawaiian experience of life....

Room Tip: get a room with bath......it is only 10 bucks more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Mahalo for liking what we have to offer and the kind words. We offer a space in time an "Old Hawaiian feel" nothing modern or fancy. Aloha from The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Review is for a room, not the hostel part. This place has everything you expect in hotel room (fridge, tv, microwave, closet) but it does lack some privacy and quiet. The owner warned me about the frogs that sing at night when I made my reservation, but that noise was not a bother at all. They had ear plugs on the dresser in the room which was nice. The noise that bothered me was from the hotel guests, rolling bags on the wood plank floor, doors slamming, loud voices, etc. because the rooms have windows to the lobby side that cannot be closed. And the light from the lobby was on all night illuminating the room. Ask to be away from the lobby. Things here are kept to an adequate level, keep your expectations to the price point and you will be fine. If you want hot water at an off peak time you have to leave the faucet running several minutes. They have coin laundry and a nice complimentary breakfast that included fresh papaya. There is a sheltered kitchen off to the side if you are not eating out. Btw, Pancake house is good for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We offer an Old Hawaiian feel nothing new or modern. A safe and clean place to sleep on your travels. Aloha from The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at the Wild Ginger Inn for 3 nights (Aug 24 to Aug 27) and everything was excellent over there: the parking lot just in front of the main entrance, the guys at the reception (super super friendly and helpful), the private room (super clean sheets and bathroom), and the breakfast too (milk, coffee, loads of fresh fruits and delicious home made cakes...). I want to spend a word on the facility, which is beautiful (ocean view..) and comfortable. There is a nice garden with a lovely gazebo as well as internet points and a laundry room: everything you really need to have a great time in the Big Island..I strongly recommend the Wild Ginger Inn if you want to have a real Hawaiian experience..Two last things that I really liked were the relaxing croaks by the thousands of frogs at night and the picture of you that the guys at the reception take by the Wild Ginger Inn road sign on your last day!
Excellent price (130 € breakfast included for 3 nights in a private room in a nice location in Hawaii in my opinion is a very good deal).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for enjoying what we have to offer. I know we are not a big resort and what we offer something from the past. A small, cozy, rustic & relaxing place. Centralize to all the most of the attractions and very affordable. It make us happy and give us strength to keep going. Malaho from The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Checked into a hotel room for 3 people after a not so pleasant experience at the Hilo Bay Hostel (all night traffic noise, grumpy staff and noisy/random guests). Wild Ginger Inn is a total gem! The owners are lovely genuine people and the place has so much character (especially the outdoor kitchen!). Fresh fruit and homemade banana bread for breakfast makes the stay feel like you've just spent the night at your nanna's house. You're walking distance to downtown Hilo, yet you look out towards the ocean and are surrounded by jungle. Among the best in Hilo!

Room Tip: Room 21 has the most space and the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Mahalo Nui for the wonder and helpful feed back. We remember your visit and liked the wonderful conversation. We will definitely take your words to heart and keep up the good work and work on our improvements. Aloha from The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii (The Big Island)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Waking up to the ocean view, hearing the birds and coqui frogs, and having the "continental breakfast" that included fresh bananas, fresh papaya, and special recipes that tasted wonderful, in an open air dining area that was surrounded by the lush vegetation, I knew I wasn't in Minnesota anymore.
I took this special birthday trip alone, and gifted myself with the right place to stay. The location provided me with downtown Hilo on foot, friendly innkeepers to share stories with, and an affordable room with a kingsize bed to relax into at the end of the day. I took a picture of the way the towels were folded, and the flowers arranged, because I appreciate beauty.
Guests can rent a room for the night, the month, can choose the hostel, and can camp outside. The owners of Wild Ginger Inn are a treasure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Mahalo Nui for kind word and for staying at the Wild Ginger Inn. We know the Wild Ginger Inn is not for everyone, but we are very happy you liked it. We offer that Old Hawaiian Style Feel close to downtown. Customers looking for a modern resort usually do not appreciate the place, but we do have a big follow of people looking for good hospitality, nature, convenience and the Hawaii of the old days. Aloha from the Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii. Affordable lodging in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I entered this hostel with a little bit of hesitation because of the rough looks. This place breathes history! It was a busy weekend in Hilo and they didn t have any hotel rooms left so they put me into their brand new hostel called the lava pit downstairs by the little river and I loved it. It looks like you re in the middle of the jungle but still you re right in the middle of the biggest city on the hawaiian island and at night this magic comes alive !
The coqui frog start singing his song. it get s pretty loud but I love it and it hides the noise of the cars in the streets in the neighbourhoud. After a while the frog s chanting gets into a pleasant rhythm and the you dream away. these where my last days in Hawaii, in the best hostel I could imagine !!
thanks Alex (and your mom)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
The Lava Pit is our New Outdoor Hostel and it is still under construction. He hit in right on the spot. A piece of the Jungle in the middle of the city. Thank for the great review and staying at the Wild Ginger Inn Hotel and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii. Your word will help us go in the right directions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Also Known As:
Wild Ginger Inn b&b
Wild Ginger Hotel
Wild Ginger Hotel Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel Hilo, Hawaii
Address: 100 Pu'ueo St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Ginger Inn is centrally located in Hilo, which is on the east side of the Big Island. One of the most affordable accommodations in town with free Wi-Fi and Hawaiian Style Continental Breakfast. We offer many different levels of comfort including regular hotel rooms, indoor and outdoor hostels (private and dorm), and tenting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list