We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run place with lots of Love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   100 Pu'ueo St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family run place with lots of Love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Seriously the name of the owner of this place is Al Love. How can you not like that. I really like this place. If you are more of a resort type of traveler this is not the place for you but if you are an off-the-beaten path type of person or "hostler" than this is a great place and a great value. Al the owner is adding a lot of cool new amenities as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Mahalo Nui for all the great words and enjoying what we have to offer. Hopefully on your next visit we will have something new to show you. :) Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located within a five minute walk from down town Hilo. The Wild Ginger Inn is ideal for backpackers and for people on a budget. From hotel rooms to tenting The Wild Ginger Inn provides many different levels of comfort. I am a local and have worked at numerous hotels and condos along the Kohala Coast. The Wild Ginger Inn screams "old-Hawaiian style". If you are looking to relax and get away from the "hustle and bustle" and "all things modern", this is the place to be. The Wild Ginger Inn isn't for just for anybody. It's simple yet unique in it's own special way. It's quiet, private and serene. I'm a simple person and I often enjoy my stay in the tenting area with a near by BBQ lounge and picnic table. An open air kitchen provided with cookware just near by. The Wild Ginger in is Family owned and operated. Mountain bikes are available to rent and there is even a outdoor workout area. Internet stations are available but if traveling with a laptop it's never a problem to get online here. There are a few long term residents that live here. They are very friendly and accommodating. What I look forward to is the coffee and freshly baked banana bread. Come and visit The Wild Ginger Inn and don't forget to say who sent ya... Bry

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Mahalo Nui to this customer how likes what we have to offer. "That Old Hawaiian Style Feel". The Wild Ginger Inn Hotel in Hilo, Hawaii and Hostel in Hilo, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Big mistake booking this place. When we walked into the room, a number of bugs hightailed it to dark corners hiding from the light that was just turned on. There is not a proper closing window in the room, and the sound from the frogs at night was very loud. Everything in the place was old, and I could see lots of cracks and odd places for bugs to hide. There was a gecko in the room as well, which was not so bad, except that I knew he had lots to eat in there. The floor was uneven. The manager suggested we not turn the fridge on. In the end, I couldn't sleep there and we ended up leaving and booking another hotel. This place is not worth it, unless you don't mind paying money to stay in a place with plenty of insects and old, worn out things

Room Tip: Do not take a room where the host says "ooh, I've never rented this room to anybody before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The original Wild Ginger Inn building was built in 1909 and it was converted to a inn in the 1930’s. We do no claim to be a modern. We offer a space in time an old plantation style feel that is perfect for travels and for those who want to experience Hawaii in the old days. The Coqui Frog are new to The Big Island and they do make matting calls all night, but we learn live with them. They resemble the sound of crickets. The Wild Ginger Inn has Hotel room, Hostel room and tenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hilo hotels

Denver, Co
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the point of view of my husband and myself, this should get five stars. We stay every time we are there but it is not for everybody. It's a little like stepping back into the 1920s or 30s. Very old Hawaiian plantation like. It has an old fashioned reception area where guests gather to chat. Ben, the proprietor, says that he gets a lot of travel writers and chefs. There is no internet in the room but a very strong wireless signal in the lobby area. This tends to bring people, working and doing, as they say in Hawaii “talk story.” Ben provides a basic continental breakfast and joins the group for breakfast so people gather and talk to him. If you ask, Ben might prepare his special sweet rice and banana concoction wrapped in banana leaves.
What the other reviews say is true. The rooms are spare, small TVs, small bathrooms, noisy frogs, thin walls. You stay at Wild Ginger for the ambiance of old Hawaii and the interesting people who stay there. And the rooms are probably the cheapest on the Island. Helps the pocket book.

Room Tip: The far end room is a little more expensive but a little larger. Try and get that one if it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcwgi, General Manager at Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I am glad to see our customers enjoyed what we have to offer. Mahalo Nui!

The original Wild Ginger Inn building was built in 1909 and it was converted to a inn in the 1930’s. We do no claim to be a modern. We offer a space in time an old plantation style feel that is perfect for travels and for those who want to experience Hawaii in the old days. The Coqui Frog are new to The Big Island and they do make matting calls all night, but we learn live with them. They resemble the sound of crickets. The Wild Ginger Inn offer Hotel room, Hostel room and tenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Been staying @ the WGI since the late 90's (when on assignment to the big island); we stay approx 4-7days per year, we go for the black & white night celebration in Hilo, hawai'i (in November)
Its a family affair run by Ben, very casual, w/ wonderful breakfast of baked goods by Arthur...it's old style hawai'i (no pool, hot tub, air conditioning, etc) WGI has a great view and wonderful grounds; plus the ocean trade winds are splendid !
WGI, to quote the david johansen song 'funky funky but chic' with very reasonable accommodations !
Its just a short 2 block walk from a residential neighborhood to downtown Hilo...the last great old school city in hawai'i (now a citadel of eclectic eccentric shops & wonderful fusion and authentic dining experiences)
We are going again this year, 2012...its my 14th visit @ WGI; the rest of our stay is in Volcano Vilage when visiting the big island annually

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassyslide101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it was ok. It is really a budget place, so dont expect much. The owner is really nice and talkative. The rooms are clean, but very basic equipped, dont expect anything fancy. The rooms are not really isolated, therefore it gets very noisy. You hear especially the frogs in the rainforrest all night long.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Cute place, and I love the crazy tree frogs and homey breakfast. But the traffic is loud, and the people next door might as well have been in our room. We heard their every cough and moan and toilet flush. To say the walls are thin doesn't really explain the noise situation there -- we had camped out for 3 nights before trying to crash here and we still barely slept!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilo Reeds Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Address: 100 Pu'ueo St., Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Ginger Inn is centrally located in Hilo, which is on the east side of the Big Island. One of the most affordable accommodations in town with free Wi-Fi and Hawaiian Style Continental Breakfast. We offer many different levels of comfort including regular hotel rooms, indoor and outdoor hostels (private and dorm), and tenting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Ginger Hotel Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn b&b
Wild Ginger Inn Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing